Site Index | CDE Offices | Staff Directory


* * CDE will be closed on Thursday, November 26 and Friday, November 27 for the Thanksgiving holiday. * *

GED Testing Program

In January 2014, a newly overhauled GED began being used in Colorado.  Colorado uses the GED to issue High School Equivalency Diplomas, and with the updated GED aligned to more rigorous standards, having this diploma will reflect test taker's readiness for postsecondary education and the workforce.  The Colorado GED Testing Program provides oversight and resources to GED Testing Centers in the state of Colorado, as well as information and resources for test takers.


Notice of Rulemaking Hearing to Repeal Rules for the GED Testing Program

The State Board of Education approved a notice of a rulemaking hearing to repeal the rules for the General Education Development (GED) testing program at their October meeting.  The hearing will occur during the December State Board of Education meeting.  This notice opens up a period of public comment until the December State Board meeting. In order to provide staff and the board adequate time to review and incorporate comments, it is suggested that comments be submitted by November 16, 2015.  Comments will be accepted up to and including the day the State Board votes on this issues. A draft of the repealed rules for the GED testing program can be viewed here. If you would like to submit comment, please send written feedback via email to Michelle Camacho Liu at

Please note that the statute referencing the GED tests, section 22-33-102 (7), was repealed in 2014 and replaced with a new reference for high school equivalency examination, section 22-33-102 (8.5), and the accompanying rules are therefore obsolete.  The policies the department needs to follow for administration of the high school equivalency examination are covered in existing statute and do not require additional rules.


GED Resources for Students and Educators

A summary of resources has been compiled for students and educators exploring the GED exam as a pathway to earning the High School Equivalency Diploma.  This summary of resources includes information on the exam, how to schedule, preparation materials, and professional development materials.  Click here to view the GED Resources for Students and Educators document.

GED Fall 2015 Promotions

GED® Fall Promotions Sept. 21 - Oct. 31
From Sept. 21 - Oct. 31, GED Testing Service is offering two promotions this fall to help boost test-taker confidence:
  • $1 for GED® Ready Official Practice Test – when ordering the GED® Ready practice test via, enter promo code BACKTOSCHOOL-
  • GED Ready Guarantee - Free retake for testers who score in the “likely to pass” range on the GED® Ready and don't pass the GED® subject test.
    • Tester must have taken their GED Ready® test AND scheduled their GED® test for that subject between September 21-October 31, 2015 for the guarantee to apply.
    • Students must take their GED® test for that subject within 60 days of earning the “Likely to Pass” score on the GED Ready® practice test for the guarantee to apply
  • Promotion FAQs
  • Click here for more information on these promotions, including resources for educations and testing centers to share with testers.

Questions regarding these promotions should be directed to


GED Data Report, Fiscal Year 2014-15

A report was recently released capturing data on the participation and outcomes of Colorado GED testers during fiscal year 2014-15. The data covers Colorado GED testers from July 1, 2014 to June 30, 2015.  Data is also disaggregated by age groups to capture data specific to youth (16-21 yrs old) and working adults (25+ yrs old).  Click here to view the GED Participation and Outcomes FY 2014-15 Report.

Office Hours

The Colorado GED Office does NOT provide any GED documents onsite.  Diplomas, transcripts, and verifications must be ordered through Diploma Sender.

By Appointment Only
For any other inquiry, please contact Marina Kokotovic to make an appointment.




Quick Links


Contact Us

Colorado Dept. of Education
201 East Colfax Ave.
Denver, CO 80203
Phone: 303-866-6600
Fax: 303-830-0793
Contact CDE

CDE Hours
Mon - Fri 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
See also: Licensing Hours

Educator Licensing