Site Index | CDE Offices | Staff Directory

Early College High School

Early colleges as designated by C.R.S. 22-35-103(10) means a secondary school that provides only a curriculum that is designed in a manner that ensures that a student who successfully completes the curriculum will have completed either an associate's degree or sixty (60) credits toward the completion of a postsecondary credential.

The process for a secondary school to request designation as an early college from the state board of education is as follows:

  • Submission of full agreement with authorizing district or institute, including curriculum
    • Curriculum must outline the path for a student to complete an associate's degree or 60 credits toward a postsecondary credential
  • Signed board resolution from authorizing district or institute

For more information - Memo re: Early College HS

Current State Board Designated Early Colleges:

  • Battle Mountain Early College High School
  • Chavez-Huerta K-12 Preparatory Academy
  • Colorado Early College Douglas County
  • Colorado Early Colleges Ft Collins
  • Colorado Springs Early College
  • Denver School of Innovation and Sustainable Design (DPS)
  • Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Early College (DPS)
  • Eagle Valley Early College High School
  • Early College High School (D11)
  • Early College of Arvada
  • Fred N. Thomas Career Education Center Middle College
  • High Tech Early College (DPS)
  • Mapleton Early College High School
  • Pikes Peak Early College
  • Southwest Early College
  • West Early College (DPS)



Quick Links


Contact Us

Colorado Dept. of Education
201 East Colfax Ave.
Denver, CO 80203
Phone: 303-866-6600
Fax: 303-830-0793
Contact CDE

CDE Hours
Mon - Fri 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
See also: Licensing Hours

Educator Licensing 

WCC Access