You are here

Industry Certificates Work Group

Thank you to the Colorado Workforce Development Council for their generous support


Work Group Summary


Work Group Objectives

  • Identify opportunities, challenges, and best/promising practices.
  • Develop implementation recommendations.
  • Explore and outline resources and tools.
  • Align skills, abilities, and knowledge that are valued by business, industry, and higher education.
  • Outline systematic pathways for students to explore and develop these skills.
  • Identify stakeholder connections and messages.
  • Maintain a written record of implementation recommendations, tools and resources, best/promising practices, and relevant discussions

Work Group Members

  • Michael Bautista, MPB & Associates
  • Tara Bell, Colorado Community College System
  • Joan Bludron, Boulder Valley School District
  • Rob Dougherty, James Irwin Charter Schools, Harrison School District 2
  • Chris Dewhurst, Colorado Department of Labor and Employment
  • Valerie  Dodrill-Killen, Aurora Public Schools
  • Scott Fast, Accenture
  • Fred Franko, Colorado Department of Labor and Employment
  • Kathy Hanson, Front Range Community College
  • Sarah Heath, Jefferson County School District
  • Tim Heaton, Colorado Advanced Manufacturing Association
  • Amanda  Hildebrandt, College in Colorado
  • Debra Hodson, Goal Academy
  • Rebecca  Holmes, CDE
  • Jennifer Jirous, Facilitator, Colorado Community College System, then CDE
  • Margaret Kirkpatrick, CDE
  • Kevin Kleckler, Hayden School District

  • Mimi Leonard, Littleton Public Schools
  • Jennifer  Nguyen, Emily Griffith Technical College
  • Wendy Nkomo, Colorado Technology Association
  • Mel Otero, Pueblo District 70
  • Matt Pickering, ACT, Inc.
  • Patrick Pratt, Colorado Association of Commerce & Industry
  • Joe Saboe, Denver Public Schools
  • Rick Sciacca, La Veta School District
  • Jay Seller, Think 360 Arts
  • Bethany Smith, Denver Public Schools
  • Scott Stump, Colorado Community College System
  • Meaghan Sullivan, Junior Achievement
  • Lauren Victor, Colorado Department of Higher Education
  • Hilary Wimmer, Mountain Range High School, Adams 12 School District
  • Mike Womochil, Colorado Community College System
  • Randy Zila, Centennial BOCES

Work Group Timeline

  • 1st Meeting: February 7th, 2014, 10:00 am - 4:00 pm, Antlers Hilton Hotel, 4 S. Cascade Ave., Colorado Springs, 80903
  • 2nd Meeting: March 13th, 2014, 2:00pm - 3:00pm, virtual
  • 3rd Meeting: May 30th, 2014, 9:00am - 2:00pm, CCCS System Offices
  • 4th Meeting: July 9th, 2014, 9:00am - 2:00pm, Jefferson County School District
  • 5th Meeting: August 25th, 2014, 3:00pm - 4:00pm, virtual
  • 6th Meeting: September 24th, 2014, 9:00am - 1:00pm, Emily Griffith Technical College
  • 7th Meeting: Oct/Nov 2014

Meeting Resources