Site Index | CDE Offices | Staff Directory


Work Group Objectives

  • Complete the career and college demonstrations chart outlining the competencies a student must meet or exceed before graduating high school
  • Provide guidance to CDE and the State Board of Education about what assessments should be included in the menu of measures the districts could use to determine that graduating students are postsecondary and workforce ready
  • Identify opportunities, challenges, and best/promising practices
  • Develop implementation recommendations
  • Explore and outline resources and tools
  • Align skills, abilities, and knowledge that are valued by business, industry, and higher education
  • Outline systematic pathways for students to explore and develop these skills
  • Identify stakeholder connections and messages
  • Maintain a written record of implementation recommendations, tools, and resources best/promising practices, and relevant discussions.

Work Group Members

  • Elliott, Asp, CDE, Facilitator
  • Mike Bowers, Lone Star Schools
  • Elizabeth Canada, Denver Scholarship Foundation
  • Jane Chapman Vigil, Metropolitan State University of Denver
  • Floyd  Cobb, Cherry Creek Schools
  • Jonathan Dings, Boulder Valley School District
  • Mary Kay Dore, Summit County District
  • Stephani Duke, Adams County Work Force & Business Center
  • Ryan Frink, Garfield 16
  • Larry Giddings, Pikes Peak Community College
  • Jeni Gotto, Adams 50
  • Ken Haptonstall, Garfield 16
  • Yu-Lu Hsiung, Denver Public Schools
  • Mark Hudson, Denver Public Schools
  • Erika Jackson, Colorado Mesa University
  • Michelle Johnstone, Brush School District
  • Amy Lobue (Farley), Colorado Education Initiative
  • Ian Macgillivray, Colorado Department of Higher Education
  • Barry Martin, Colorado School of Mines
  • Patty Milner, Colorado State University - Pueblo
  • Kaliko Oligo,  ACT, Inc.
  • Gerry Olvey, D11, Colorado Springs

  • Susan Ortner, Holyoke School District, Re-1J
  • Pamela Osborne, TRiO, Metro State University of Denver
  • Matt Pickering, ACT, Inc.
  • David Platt, Front Range Community College
  • Lindsay Prendergast, Paonia 7-12 School, Delta 50J
  • Mary Ann Roe, Colorado Department of Labor & Employment
  • Holly Sample, University Schools, Greeley School District
  • Chris Selle, Custer County School District
  • Rick Silverman, Telluride School
  • Paula Stephenson, Rural Caucus
  • Molly Stevens, Manitou Springs School District
  • Dawn Taylor Owens, College In Colorado
  • Patti Turner, Littleton Public Schools
  • Johan van Nieuwenhuizen, Poudre School District
  • Tamara White, Department of Higher Education
  • Robert Williams, Greeley School District
  • Catherine Wilson, University of Colorado – Denver
  • Jeanie York, University of Northern Colorado
  • Dave Young, Representative, Colorado House District 50

Work Group Timeline

  • 1st Meeting: June 4, 2014
  • 2nd Meeting: August 29, 2014
  • 3rd Meeting: September 2014
  • 4th Meeting: October 2014
  • 5th Meeting: November 2014
  • 6th Meeting: January 2015
  • 7th Meeting: February 2015
  • 8th Meeting: March 2015
  • 9th Meeting: April 2015
  • 10th Meeting: May 2015

Meeting Resources

Quick Links


Contact Us

Colorado Dept. of Education
201 East Colfax Ave.
Denver, CO 80203
Phone: 303-866-6600
Fax: 303-830-0793
Contact CDE

CDE Hours
Mon - Fri 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
See also: Licensing Hours

Educator Licensing 

WCC Access