You are here

The 4Rs

About This Resource

The 4Rs Program (Reading, Writing, Respect, and Resolution) provides read-alouds, book talks, and sequential, interactive skills lessons to develop social and emotional skills related to understanding and managing feelings, listening and developing empathy, being assertive, solving conflict creatively and nonviolently, honoring diversity, and standing up to teasing and bullying.

4Rs is a grade-specific program available for students in prekindergarten through eighth grade. Divided into seven units, each grade has approximately 35 lessons — one a week throughout the year. Units also include extension activities, infusion ideas, recommendations of other books, and 4Rs Activity Sheets to reinforce students’ understanding. The 4Rs program reinforces skills and concepts covered in each unit with a Family Connection activity that students take home to complete with their caregivers and 4Rs “Family Connections” parent workshops.

Peer mediation and Peace Helper programs are also available to support classroom- and school-wide programming. All 4Rs stories incorporate a variety of cultures, ethnicities, and backgrounds. Initial training for the 4Rs program typically lasts 25-30 hours and is required. 4Rs offers a train-the-trainer system to support sustainability.

Collaborative for Academic, Social, and Emotional Learning (CASEL) Registry

Cost Information: 

No cost information available


Consent packages available in Spanish.

Who This Resource Is For


  • Social-Emotional Learning
  • Support Tier: 

  • Not Specified / Any
  • Age Range: 

  • Early Childhood
  • Elementary
  • Language: 

  • English
  • Spanish
  • Ethnicity: 

  • African American/Black
  • Hispanic/Latino
  • Community Type: 

  • Urban