Site Index | CDE Offices | Staff Directory

State Grants to Libraries

Eligibility Forms  |  Timeline  |  FAQ  |  Latest Resources  |  Additional Resources 

In the 2015 legislative session, the Colorado Legislature increased the appropriation to $2.5 million in the state's budget to fund the State Grants to Libraries Act. The funds will be available to eligible publicly funded school, public and academic libraries to fund grants for library materials as defined in the statute (see CRS 24-90-401). The purpose of the funds is for educational materials in libraries that support efforts to improve literacy and learning.

Funding Announcement!

We are happy to announce the funding allocations for the State Grants for Libraries 2017-2018. This Funding Allocation Chart (PDF) lists each grant recipient (one grant per library jurisdiction or school district) and amount. Grantees will receive an award agreement in the mail, followed by a check.

2017 Guidelines and Eligibility Forms


  • July 15, 2017: Grant report due for 2016-2017 grants.
  • August 30, 2017: Overview and Q&A webinar
    access the Adobe Connect archive in the webinar section below
  • September 15, 2017: Eligibility forms due.
  • October/November 2017: Award checks mailed.
  • June 30, 2018: End of grant period. All funds spent.
  • July 15, 2018: Grant report due.


Have a question about these forms, eligible purchases, or anything related to the State Grants for Libraries? Check our Frequently Asked Questions first - your question is likely already answered here.

Latest Resources

2016-2017 State Grants distribution map

2016-2017 Distribution of State Grants to Libraries: See a map of where the 2016-2017 State Grants to Libraries were distributed, funding 315 grants to academic, public, and school libraries across the state, including 3 new grantees this year. Libraries received a minimum of $3,500 and that funding more than doubled the collection budgets for 70 libraries.

2015-2016 state grants impact

The Impact of State Grants to Libraries: 2015-2016. In 2015, $2.5 million was distributed to 315 public, school, academic, and institutional libraries. See how that money was used, some quotes about the benefits of the funding, and how grantees said the funding helped them.


Additional Resources

Funding Allocation Charts

2017-2018 Final Allocation (PDF) 

These list each previous grant recipient (one grant per main library jurisdiction or school district) and amount.

Colorado Libraries Collaborate! (CLC)

  • Participant List - Membership in CLC is required for public and academic libraries. Check to see if your library is already a member.
  • Participation Agreement Form - If you are not a member, you can fill out this form and become a member by October 1 to become eligible for funding.

Reporting and Evaluation

You can preview the Report Form (PDF) that will be due after you finish your purchasing, or by July 15, 2018. Links to the online form will be sent to the Grant Reporting Contact Person listed on your Eligibility Form.

  • Reporting Q and A - frequently asked questions by grant recipients on how to report use of funds.


  • Eligible Purchases Checklist - Wondering whether you can purchase an item with this funding? Review this checklist of what are eligible purchases, and what are not.
  • Strategic Purchasing Recommendations - Wondering how your library might make a strategic investment in early literacy? Our partners at the Colorado Library Consortium (CLiC) and Colorado Libraries for Early Literacy (CLEL) have some suggested packages for your library, including:
  • Kits and other non-traditional circulating items: view the Check Out an Experience! CSL in Session archive for ideas on different items to add to your collection and how to implement the circulation.


Overview and Q&A webinar: Wednesday, August 30, 
Access the Adobe Connect archive here
View the webinar PowerPoint


Melissa Carlson, Program Manager

Jean Marie Heilig, Fiscal Officer

Quick Links


Contact Us

Colorado Dept. of Education
201 East Colfax Ave.
Denver, CO 80203
Phone: 303-866-6600
Fax: 303-830-0793
Contact CDE

CDE Hours
Mon - Fri 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
See also: Licensing Hours

Educator Licensing 

WCC Access