Site Index | CDE Offices | Staff Directory

 

* * CDE will be closed Friday, July 3 for the Independence Day holiday. * *

National Board Certification

Within Colorado Law, there are provisions for:

  • Scholarship assistance for seeking to obtain certification through the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards (NBPTS)
  • Stipends for those educators who have obtained national certification through NBPTS

Each of these items must be funded annually by the Colorado legislature. When one or both of these items has been funded, CDE will update this page with the necessary educator information.

 

Scholarships

For 2015-2016 Candidates

Federal and state scholarships were not allocated by the U.S. Congress or through the Colorado legislature during the last session. Please visit the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards (NBPTS) Web site for information on corporate or other scholarships.

Colorado will re-distribute funds that were returned from candidates who dropped beginning 5/1/15. A $250 scholarship will be available to the first 26 candidates who follow the Scholarship Guidelines. Deadline to apply is February 26, 2016. Scholarships are first come, first served and will be applied directly to the candidate's NBPTS account. Those applying, after the total amount has been distributed, will be placed on a waiting list.

To apply for a scholarship, candidates must first apply with NBPTS, pay the annual fee and pay the fee for at least one component. Applicants must check the box indicating they will allow their information to be viewed by third party payers, which places them on the State of Colorado's candidate list. CDE will then email the application form for the scholarship.

Candidates return the application form, and a one page essay detailing how certification will help the teacher and his/her students work towards achieving high standards of teaching and learning. Candidates must also submit proof of payment of component fees for NBPTS. All scholarship notifications are done via email. The scholarship is limited to candidates working in public schools. There is no guarantee of receiving a scholarship and CDE reserves the right to award candidates at high poverty, low income schools first.


Stipends

In spring 2012, the Colorado State Legislature passed House Bill 12-1261 (C.R.S. 22-2-501, et.seq) concerning funding of stipends for National Board for Professional Teaching Standards-certified teachers.

The bill outlines the stipend amount and the educators who will qualify for them based on state appropriation, if any. For the 2015-2016 school year, the Colorado legislature has budgeted to allocate a $1,600 stipend to all NBPTS-certified educators who meet the qualifications. An additional stipend of up to $3,200 may be awarded to NBPTS-certified educators employed in schools that were designated by the Colorado State Board of Education on December 9, 2015, as Priority Improvement Plan or Turnaround Plan schools. NBPTS-certified teachers and principals in these schools must have been employed by October 1, 2015, and must remain employed at that school through May 1, 2016, to qualify for the additional stipend.

CDE will work with district human resources departments to facilitate the application and fund disbursement process. As stipulated in law, CDE will distribute stipends to individual districts, which will then provide these funds to qualifying educators in May 2016, via their payroll system. Please continue to check this website page for more information.

Please review the NBPTS Protocol Information Sheet for additional details.

 

For more information on national board certification:

National Board for Professional Teaching Standards
NBPTS Processing Center
11827 Tech Com Way, Suite 200
San Antonio TX 78233
1.800.22TEACH

 

For general inquiries relating to NBPTS scholarships and stipends, please send e-mails to: NBPTS E-mail Inquiries

For technical problems with this page please contact the Web Content Coordinator.

Quick Links

 

Contact Us

Professional Services & Educator Licensure
6000 E Evans Ave
Building #2, Suite 100
Denver, CO 80222
Contact Licensing

Colorado Dept. of Education
201 East Colfax Ave.
Denver, CO 80203
Phone: 303-866-6600
Fax: 303-830-0793
Contact CDE