Site Index | CDE Offices | Staff Directory

State Grants to Libraries

Eligibility Forms  |  Timeline  |  FAQ  |  Latest Resources  |  Additional Resources 

In the 2015 legislative session, the Colorado Legislature increased the appropriation to $2.5 million in the state's budget to fund the State Grants to Libraries Act. The funds will be available to eligible publicly funded school, public and academic libraries to fund grants for library materials as defined in the statute (see CRS 24-90-401). The purpose of the funds is for educational materials in libraries that support efforts to improve literacy and learning.

2018-2019 Funding Cycle Open!

We are pleased to announce that the State Grants to Libraries funding cycle is now open for 2018-2019! This non-competitive grant provides a minimum of $3,500 award to eligible jurisdictions. To receive funds, school districts, public library jurisdictions, and academic libraries must submit an eligibility form to the State Library by September 14. For the potential funding amount for each library jurisdiction, please see the draft allocation chart (PDF)


2018 Guidelines and Eligibility Forms


Timeline

  • July 15, 2018: Grant report due for 2017-2018 grants.
  • August 2018: Overview and Q&A webinar - date TBA
  • September 14, 2018: Eligibility forms due.
  • October/November 2018: Award checks mailed.
  • June 30, 2019: End of grant period. All funds spent.
  • July 15, 2019: Grant report due.

FAQ

Have a question about these forms, eligible purchases, or anything related to the State Grants for Libraries? Check our Frequently Asked Questions first - your question is likely already answered here.


Latest Resources

partial image of the 2017-2018 state grants distribution map

2017-2018 Distribution of State Grants to Libraries (PDF): See a map of where the 2017-2018 State Grants to Libraries were distributed, funding 316 grants to academic, public, and school libraries across the state. 97.5 % of all libraries in the state received funding at a minimum of $3,500. 

partial image of 2016-2017 state grants impact infographic

The Impact of State Grants to Libraries: 2016-2017 (PDF). In 2016, $2.5 million was distributed to 315 public, school, academic, and institutional libraries. See how that money was used, some benefits of the funding, and how grantees said the funding helped them.

 


Additional Resources

Funding Allocation Charts

2018-2019 Draft Funding Allocation (PDF)

These list each previous grant recipient (one grant per main library jurisdiction or school district) and amount.

Colorado Libraries Collaborate! (CLC)

  • Participant List - Membership in CLC is required for public and academic libraries. Check to see if your library is already a member.
  • Participation Agreement Form - If you are not a member, you can fill out this form and become a member by October 1 to become eligible for funding.

Reporting and Evaluation

Final report is due by July 15, 2019. All funds must be spent by June 30, 2019.

Purchasing

  • Eligible Purchases Checklist - Wondering whether you can purchase an item with this funding? Review this checklist of what are eligible purchases, and what are not.
  • Strategic Purchasing Recommendations - Wondering how your library might make a strategic investment in early literacy? Our partners at the Colorado Library Consortium (CLiC) and Colorado Libraries for Early Literacy (CLEL) have some suggested packages for your library, including:
  • Kits and other non-traditional circulating items: view the Check Out an Experience! CSL in Session archive for ideas on different items to add to your collection and how to implement the circulation.

Webinars

2018 Overview and Q&A webinar: coming soon!

Wednesday, August 30, 2017 
Access the Adobe Connect archive here
View the webinar PowerPoint


Contact

Melissa Carlson, Program Manager

carlson_m@cde.state.co.us
303-866-6910

Quick Links

 

Contact Us

Colorado Dept. of Education
201 East Colfax Ave.
Denver, CO 80203
Phone: 303-866-6600
Fax: 303-830-0793
Contact CDE

CDE Hours
Mon - Fri 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
See also: Licensing Hours

Educator Licensing 

WCC Access