Site Index | CDE Offices | Staff Directory

Board Member Profiles


State Board of Education is composed of seven elected officials representing Colorado’s congressional districts
with the Commissioner of Education acting as non-voting secretary to the Board. Board members serve without pay
for six-year terms. Every other year, the State Board elects a chairman and vice-chairman from its own membership.

Marcia Neal. Angelika Schroeder.   Pam Mazanec.

Marcia Neal (R)

3rd Congressional District,
Grand Junction

Angelika Schroeder (D)

2nd Congressional District,

Valentina (Val) Flores (D)

1st Congressional District,

Pam Mazanec (R)

4th Congressional District,
Debora Scheffel. Jane Goff.

Steve Durham (R)

5th Congressional District,
Colorado Springs

Debora Scheffel (R)

6th Congressional District,

Jane Goff (D)

7th Congressional District,

Elliott Asp

Interim Commissioner of Education
Secretary of the State Board of Education

Not pictured:

Elizabeth (Bizy) Burdsall

Interim Director of State Board Relations


For additional information, e-mail:

Quick Links


Contact Us

Colorado Dept. of Education
201 East Colfax Ave.
Denver, CO 80203
Phone: 303-866-6600
Fax: 303-830-0793
Contact CDE

CDE Hours
Mon - Fri 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
See also: Licensing Hours

Educator Licensing