You are here

SBE Committee Service 2021


State Board of Education Service on Committees

C.R.S. 22-2-107(1)(a) provides that the state board has the power “[t]o perform all duties delegated to it by law.”  Various statutes specifically require State Board members to represent the SBE on committees.  The State Board’s Operating Procedures state that the State Board selects (and the Chairman appoints) members to serve for a two-year period to committees established by statute and organizations/committees to which the State Board wishes to designate a board member liaison.

This list contains the committees which State Board members serve on either by statutory requirement or as liaisons from the State Board.  Board members are appointed by the Governor, State Board Chairman, Commissioner, or other organizations. 

Current Service

  • Steve Durham
    • SBE Legislative Contact, 2016 - 2021
    • School Trust Lands Committee, 2018-present
  • Lisa Escárcega
    • State Advisory Council for Parent Involvement in Education (SACPIE) - 2021
    • National Association of State Boards of Education; Government Affairs Committee - 2021
    • Research Review Panel - 2021
  • Karla Esser
    • Gifted Education State Advisory Committee (GE-SAC) - 2021
  • Rebecca McClellan
    • CSEAC Committee, 2017 - 2020
    • SBE Legislative Contact, 2021
  • Joyce Rankin
    • Steering Committee for Colorado Dialogue on Public Libraries in conjunction with Aspen Institute, 2016-present
    • Research Review Panel, 2017- present
  • Debora Scheffel
    • Colorado Special Education Advisory Committee (CSEAC)
  • Angelika Schroeder
    • Colorado Association of School Boards (CASB) Liaison, 2009 - present
    • Public Education and Business Coalition (PEBC) Board of Directors, 2011 -  present
    • National Association of State Boards of Education (NASBE)
      • Finance and Audit Committee, 2015 - 2017
    • Education Leadership Council, 2017 - present