Site Index | CDE Offices | Staff Directory

School Nutrition Contact Information


Contact Us


CDE Office of School Nutrition Staff

Brehan Riley, MS, RD, SNS - Interim Director

riley_b@cde.state.co.us
303-866-6299

  • Interim Director
    • Manages all Child Nutrition Programs administered by CDE; determines program goals and objectives.
    • Formulates, interprets and implements state and federal statutes, rules and regulations for the Child Nutrition Programs
    • Provides leadership and expertise in planning, developing, promoting, implementing, and evaluating Child Nutrition Programs
    • Oversees budgets related to federal and state funding
  • Program Manager
    • Monitors statewide implementation of the school meal programs.
    • Assists in program implementation, develops policies to enforce program goals/objectives, evaluates program data to ensure program goals/objectives are being met, and enforces all program regulations.
    • Resolves issues regarding interpretation and implementation of federal regulations. Provides input on proposed federal and state regulations.
    • Coordinates dietetic interns

Lyza Shaw, MS - Business Operations Manager

shaw_l@cde.state.co.us
303-866-6670

  • Assists with the financial management aspects of the Child Nutrition Program
  • Coordinates the Resource Management section of the Administrative Review
  • Liaison for fiscal management and financial reporting
  • Procurement

Sara Silvernail, MS, RD -Training Supervisor

silvernail_s@cde.state.co.us
303-866-5985

  • Coordinates and oversees training and technical assistance programs
  • Liaison to Colorado School Nutrition Association (CSNA)


Amanda Mercer, MS, RD -Review Administrator

mercer_a@cde.state.co.us
303-866-6659

  • Coordinates Administrative Review Process
  • Lead for nutrient analysis protocols

Ashley Moen, MS, RD - Summer Food Service Program Administrator

moen_a@cde.state.co.us
303-866-6653

  • Emergency/Disaster Feeding
  • Seamless Summer Option (SSO)
  • Summer Food Service Program (SFSP)


Megan Meermans -Grants Fiscal Analyst/Nutrition

meermans_m@cde.state.co.us
303-866-5692

  • Fiscal Management
  • USDA Reports

Jan Bodnar, RD -Program Specialist

bodnar_j@cde.state.co.us
303-866-6306

  • Charter Schools
  • Equipment Approval/ Equipment Grants
  • Food Service Management Companies (FSMCs)
  • New School Food Authorities (SFAs)
  • Procurement

Rachael Burnham, BS-Program Specialist

burnham_r@cde.state.co.us
Phone: 303-866-6450

Sara Rose Foreman, RD - Program Specialist

foreman_s@cde.state.co.us
303-866-6650

  • Afterschool Snack Program (ASP)
  • Fresh Fruit and Vegetable Program (FFVP)
  • Food Safety and Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Point (HACCP)

Julie Griffith, MPH, RD - Program Specialist

griffith_j@cde.state.co.us
303-866-6759

  • CO Child Nutrition Hub
  • Provisional Programs
    • Community Eligibility Provision
    • Provision 2
  • Residential Child Care Institutes (RCCIs)

Heather Hauswirth, RD - Program Specialist

hauswirth_h@cde.state.co.us
303-866-6871

  • HealthierUS School Challenge (HUSSC)
  • Nutrition Education
  • Smarter Lunchrooms
  • Team Nutrition
  • Wellness Policy

Kerri Link, MS, RD - Program Specialist

link_k@cde.state.co.us
303-866-3686

  • Breakfast After the Bell Nutrition Program
  • Civil Rights
  • Farm to School
  • Special Dietary Needs
  • Special Milk Program
  • Procurement

Jonathan Padia, RD - Program Specialist

padia_j@cde.state.co.us
303-866-3685

  • Alternate Point of Sale (POS)
  • Meal Patterns
  • Menu Planning
  • Offer versus Serve
  • School Breakfast Program (SBP)
  • Smart Snacks and Competitive Foods

Stacey Macklin, BS - Program Support

macklin_s@cde.state.co.us
303-866-6661

  • Administrative Duties
  • Advisory Council for School Nutrition (ACSN)
  • Program Support
  • Thursday Update
  • Website Content Coordinator


Nutrition Consultants

Katie Jackson, BS

jackson_k@cde.state.co.us
303-913-4456

  • Administrative Reviews

Tammie Rempe, MA, RD

rempe_t@cde.state.co.us
303-913-3340

  • Administrative Reviews

Joella Carron

carron_j@cde.state.co.us
Phone:  TBD

  • Summer Food Service Program Reviews


For additional information, e-mail: nutrition@cde.state.co.us

Quick Links

 

Contact Us

Colorado Dept. of Education
201 East Colfax Ave.
Denver, CO 80203
Phone: 303-866-6600
Fax: 303-830-0793
Contact CDE

CDE Hours
Mon - Fri 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
See also: Licensing Hours

Educator Licensing 

WCC Access