Site Index | CDE Offices | Staff Directory

 

* * CDE will be closed on Monday, Dec. 24 and Tuesday, Dec. 25 for the Christmas holiday. * *

Office of Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA) Programs

Our Office


The ESEA Programs Office is a part of the the Federal Programs Unit and consists of three teams: 

The work of this office is to administer federally-funded programs, define program and systems quality for supporting historically underserved students, and establish standards, indicators, and protocols with which to assess local programs and systems. The goal is to help build the capacity of the field to implement higher quality programs and systems which are supported and funded under the Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA), reauthorized as the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA). Our office seeks to ensure that program applications, review protocols and approval criteria reflect high quality program standards and maximize efficiency, improve program design and implementation, and impact student outcomes.

Our Mission

The purpose of our work is ensure that the ESEA programs in Colorado provide all children significant opportunity to receive a fair, equitable, and high-quality education and close educational achievement gaps.

Our Stakeholders

The Every Student Succeeds Act Committee of Practitioners serves to advise the CDE in carrying out its responsibilities under the Every Student Succeeds Act of 2015. It operates to identify issues across regions of the state and facilitate two-way communication between CDE and the preK-12 education community throughout Colorado.

At this time, CDE is accepting applications for the following representation on the committee:

  • Charter school teacher(s)
  • Career and technical education teacher(s)
  • Principal(s) or other school leaders
  • Specialized instructional support personnel
  • Paraprofessional(s)
  • Additional parents of school-age children
  • Exceptional Student Services practitioner
  • Geographic representation from the Southeast, West Central, and Northwest Regions of the State

To apply for a position, fill out the 2018-19 Application(DOC) and submit to Brad Bylsma


Tools & Resources


Our Teams

Director: Nazanin Mohajeri-Nelson, Ph.D.
Assistant Director: DeLilah Collins
Supervisor: Kim Burnham

ESEA Programs 

Administrative Lead: Michelle Prael
Email: prael_m@cde.state.co.us
Phone Number: 303-866-6998

The work of the ESEA Programs Team is to define program and systems quality and to establish standards, indicators, and protocols with which to assess local programs and systems quality. The goal is to help build the capacity of the field to implement higher quality programs and systems. This office seeks to ensure that program applications, review protocols and approval criteria reflect high quality program standards and maximizes efficiency and impact.

Competitive Grants and Awards 

Administrative Lead: Brittany Jimenez
Email: jimenez_b@cde.state.co.us 
Phone Number: 303-866-6813

The Competitive Grants and Awards Team is dedicated to enhancing school improvement through federal and state grant opportunities. We offer support to students, teachers and administrators in the application and funding process for a wide variety of grant and award programs. We strive to develop high quality grant applications and review protocols, to recognize highly effective local programs and educators, utilize their expertise in support of increased program effectiveness, and create incentives for others to implement bold reforms in support of increased student achievement.

Data, Accountability, Reporting and Evaluation

Administrative Lead: Sofia Hernandez Sosa
Email: hernandez-sosa_s@cde.state.co.us
Phone Number: (303) 866-6963

The Data, Accountability, Reporting and Evaluation (DARE) team under the Office of ESEA Programs within the Federal Programs Unit is responsible for evaluating the effectiveness of ESEA programs, as reauthorized under ESSA, and fulfilling federal accountability and data reporting requirements. Our team collects, manages, and analyzes data to inform the development of applications for funding and standards for program quality, by going beyond accountability measures and evaluating the impact of programs and identifying best practices in program implementation.

Office of ESEA 

Nazanin (Nazie) Mohajeri-Nelson
Director, ESEA Programs Office
303-866-6205
mohajeri-nelson_n@cde.state.co.us

DeLilah Collins
Assistant Director, ESEA Programs Office
303-866-6850
collins_d@cde.state.co.us

Sofia Hernandez Sosa
Program Support
303-866-6963
hernandez-sosa_s@cde.state.co.us

Michelle Prael  
Program Support
303-866-6998
prael_m@cde.state.co.us

ESEA Programs Team

ESEA Programs

James (Joey) Willett
ESEA Senior Consultant, Title I and Title ID
303-866-6700
willett_j@cde.state.co.us

Barbara Vassis
ESEA Lead Consultant, Title I & Title II
303-866-6065
vassis_b@cde.state.co.us

Kristen Collins
ESEA Consultant, Title I Parent & Family Engagement Specialist & Title V
303-866-6705
collins_k@cde.state.co.us

Laura Meushaw
ESEA Senior Consultant, Title I & School Improvement
303-866-6618
meushaw_l@cde.state.co.us

Brad Bylsma
Director of Coordinated Supports, Title I 
303-866-6937
bylsma_b@cde.state.co.us

Jeremy Meredith 
ESEA Senior Consultant, Title II
303-866-3905
meredith_j@cde.state.co.us

Robert Thompson 
ESEA Senior Consultant: Title III
303-866-6842
thompson_r@cde.state.co.us

Tammy Giessinger
ESEA Consultant: Title IV
303-866-6992
giessinger_t@cde.state.co.us

 

 

Data, Accountability, Reporting and Evaluation Team

Data, Accountability, Reporting and Evaluation

Donna Morganstern
Coordinator, ESEA Reporting
303-866-6209
morganstern_d@cde.state.co.us

Tina Negley
Research Analyst
303-866-5243
negley_t@cde.state.co.us

Alexandra Tolentino
Data Collection Specialist & Research Analyst
303-866-4571
tolentino_a@cde.state.co.us

Competitive Grants and Awards Team

Competitive Grants and Awards

Kim Burnham
CGA Supervisor
303-866-6916
burnham_k@cde.state.co.us

Patricia Gleason
CGA Senior Consultant
303-866-6143
gleason_p@cde.state.co.us

Nicole Dake 
CGA Senior Consultant
303-866-6250
dake_n@cde.state.co.us

Brittany Jimenez
Program Support 
303-866-6813
jimenez_b@cde.state.co.us

 

 

Quick Links

 

Contact Us

Colorado Dept. of Education
201 East Colfax Ave.
Denver, CO 80203
Phone: 303-866-6600
Fax: 303-830-0793
Contact CDE

CDE Hours
Mon - Fri 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
See also: Licensing Hours

Educator Licensing 

WCC Access