The Office of Dropout Prevention and Student Re-Engagement was launched in 2009 and was created to expand efforts in reducing the dropout rate, increasing the graduation rate and advancing credential attainment.
This effort is authorized by Colorado Revised Statute 22-14-101 and builds on the state’s commitment to ensure graduation and school success for all students and re-engaging out of school youth.
There are five components to this work:
- Analyzing student data pertaining to dropout, completion rates, truancy, suspension and expulsion rates, safety and discipline incidence and student growth.
- Coordinating efforts across CDE and leading initiatives to address dropout prevention, student re-engagement and adult education.
- Identifying and recommending best practices and effective strategies to reduce student dropout rates and increase student engagement and re-engagement.
- Tracking progress and results.
- Securing and managing resources to fund services and supports.
The Dropout Prevention and Student Re-Engagement Unit includes six programs that in 2015-16 represent over $22.5 million in funding to support communities, local education agencies, and schools.
Resources and Tools for Graduation and Dropout Rates
- Dropout Data
- Graduation Data
- Overview of Graduation and Dropout Calculations (PDF)
- Colorado Graduation and Dropout Rates from 2010 to 2017 (PDF)
- Graduation, Completion, and Still Enrolled Rates: connection to CDE Strategic Plan (PDF)
- Authorizing Legislation: Office of Dropout Prevention and Student Re-engagement
Training and Supports
- National Dropout Prevention Network (NDPN)
- Join the Colorado Re-Engagement Network hosted by Colorado Youth for a Change (CYC). Includes Network calls with schools and communities.
Latest News and Updates
State's Graduation rate improves slightly to 79 percent
School Attendance Matters
Daily attendance is essential to student success at all grade levels, too many absences can lead to students falling behind and ultimately dropping out. An area of focus is the state’s chronic absenteeism rate, which is when a student misses 10 percent or more of a school year or approximately 18 days a year. That is equivalent to two days every month.
Visit the Attendance Information webpage to see how your school or district compares to the state attendance, truancy and chronic absenteeism data.
Attendance Resources and Materials