What Is CPP?
In 1988, the Colorado Preschool Program (CPP) was started to help preschool-aged children in Colorado who may face learning challenges.
- CPP allows eligible children to go to high quality preschool for free. There is no fee for families that qualify.
- Children are funded to attend preschool for a minimum of 10 hours per week during the school year.
- CPP classrooms meet quality standards and have small class sizes to make a better learning environment for children.
- Support services for families
- Families are a big part of a child’s learning experience. CPP helps support that!
Why Should I Send My Children To Preschool?
Schooling is an important part of life. The early years can be a strong base for your child to gain the knowledge, skills and confidence to become a successful learner.
Families are an important part of the learning puzzle for children. A preschool program will not only encourage your child and help them develop the needed knowledge and skills, but it also can support you in your role as a parent.
- This paper, Working Your Way through the Child Care Maze,may be helpful if you're just getting started with your search.
To find out about CPP options in your community, click here to find the school district contact who can help you with enrollment.
Frequently Asked Questions
Who Is Eligible?
- Child and family qualifying factors that affect overall learning readiness must be present in a child’s life in order for a child to be fit for CPP*.
These factors are determined by the legislature, and they are not based on income alone.
*Each district and preschool has a defined number of openings and often cannot take in all families who apply
How Old Must Children Be?
- The eligibility date for preschool is the same as the eligibility date for kindergarten in your district.
- Most children in CPP attend preschool the year before they are eligible to attend kindergarten. If a child is old enough to attend kindergarten, they cannot be funded by CPP for a second year in preschool.
- If a child is served as a 3 year old, the child must have three significant risk factors in their life that put him or her at risk for school failure.
There also may be some opportunities for extended day services.
How Do I Apply?
- School district councils determine eligibility and enrollment for CPP.
- When applying to the program you will be asked to provide information about your child and family. Your child will also take part in a developmental screening. All information is strictly private and used only for determining need/eligibility for the preschool program. You can contact your local school district to start the enrollment process or to ask for more information about CPP.
- To find out about CPP options in your community, click here to find the school district contact who can help you with enrollment.
If We Move, Will My Child Stay in CPP?
- Since each school district manages its own program, your child’s spot in CPP cannot be transferred.
- If you move to a new school district, you will need to go through the enrollment process again in the new district.Because resources are limited, availability for placement cannot be guaranteed when a family moves from district to district.
Not Sure of your School District?
If you are not sure in which school district you live, please contact a regional consultant for assistance or click on this link for a map of Colorado's School Districts:
- Michelle Boyer, Colorado Springs and SE Colorado : 303-866-6803 or firstname.lastname@example.org
- Julie Faucett, South Metro and East central Colorado: 303-866-6334 or email@example.com
- Jose Saucedo, North Metro and NE Colorado: 303-866-5790 or Saucedo_J@cde.state.co.us
- Mary Jo DePriest, Pueblo and SW Colorado: 720-666-1226 or firstname.lastname@example.org
- Melissa Taucher, NW Colorado: 720-822-6239 or Taucher_M@cde.state.co.us