Site Index | CDE Offices | Staff Directory

Dropout Prevention and Student Re-Engagement

The Office of Dropout Prevention and Student Re-Engagement was launched in 2009 and was created to expand efforts in reducing the dropout rate, increasing the graduation rate and advancing credential attainment.This effort is authorized by Colorado Revised Statute 22-14-101 and builds on the state’s commitment to ensure graduation and school success for all students and re-engaging out of school youth. There are five components to this work:

  1. Analyzing student data pertaining to dropout, completion rates, truancy, suspension and expulsion rates, safety and discipline incidence and student growth.
  2. Coordinating efforts across CDE and leading initiatives to address dropout prevention, student re-engagement and adult education.
  3. Identifying and recommending best practices and effective strategies to reduce student dropout rates and increase student engagement and re-engagement.
  4. Tracking progress and results.
  5. Securing and managing resources to fund services and supports.

The Dropout Prevention and Student Re-Engagement Unit includes six programs that in 2015-16 represent over $22.5 million in funding to support communities, local education agencies, and schools.


Latest News and Updates

State's Graduation rate improves slightly to 79 percent

Colorado achieves highest four-year graduation rate since 2010
State sustains reductions in dropout rate

The four-year graduation rate for the class of 2017 is 79.0 percent, which represents 858 more graduates than the class of 2016.

The state's 2016-17 dropout rate remains at an all-time low at 2.3 percent, which was the same rate as 2015-16.

Resources and Tools for Graduation and Dropout Rates

New Opportunity to Apply for a 4/year Expelled and at-Risk Student Services (EARSS) Grant

Application Due Date: July 6, 2018

For details, visit the EARSS Request for Proposal (RFP) webpage.

School Attendance Fact Sheet and Resources

 

Join the Colorado Re-Engagement Network

Quick Links

 

Contact Us

Colorado Dept. of Education
201 East Colfax Ave.
Denver, CO 80203
Phone: 303-866-6600
Fax: 303-830-0793
Contact CDE

CDE Hours
Mon - Fri 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
See also: Licensing Hours

Educator Licensing 

WCC Access