Site Index | CDE Offices | Staff Directory

Legislation and Guidance

In 2008, Colorado House Bill 1019 mandated that each school district and state Charter School Institute designate an employee or contractor to serve as a Child Welfare Education Liaison. The child welfare education liaisons collaborate with child placement agencies, county departments, the state department, and schools to ensure proper school placement, transfer and enrollment of foster children. The liaisons work with all parties to ensure a foster child remains in an educational situation that promotes stability. The law also requires schools to transfer education records within five school days and that the receiving school admits these children within five days of receipt of a student’s records.

Improving Outcomes through Data

Read the New Study on Graduation and Dropout Rates for Colorado Students in Foster Care: 5-Year Trend Analysis

A new report from CDE and the Department of Human Services shows that the majority of Colorado’s students in foster care are not graduating from high school. Just 27.5 percent of public school foster care students in the class of 2013 graduated on time, compared with 77 percent of all students.

A deeper look at five years of data by the University of Northern Colorado found persistent problems. View the UNC Report.

We are excited to announce the recording and power point of the Improving the Educational Outcomes for Children and Youth in Colorado’s Child Welfare System.

If you would like to review this electronic recording of the data please click here.

To request a presentation on foster care education data please click here.


Child Welfare Education Liaison (CWEL) Guidance

  • Frequently Asked Questions About Foster Care Education:  This document was created in response to commonly asked questions around educational issues for youth in foster care.
  • Foster Care Education Data: This document provides information on Graduation and Dropout Rates for Colorado Students in Foster Care.
  • Best Practices for CWEL's: This best practices for LEA CWEL's, provides an overview of laws to support district CWEL's to better understand their roles and responsibilities for children and youth in foster care.
  • Kinship Fact Sheet and Narrative:This fact sheet provides definitions and what districts need to know about Colorado Kinship, Kinship Family Foster Care, and Non-relative Foster Care. The Narrative accompanies it to add clarification around commonly asked questions.
  • Legislation at a Glance: Foster Care Education: Legislation at a Glance is a tool designed to outline and simplify legislation around Foster Care Education in an easy to read format.
  • Higher Education Information for Foster Care: College students coming from foster care require more attention than most other first generation students because of their background and their early independent status.

Quick Links


Contact Us

Colorado Dept. of Education
201 East Colfax Ave.
Denver, CO 80203
Phone: 303-866-6600
Fax: 303-830-0793
Contact CDE

CDE Hours
Mon - Fri 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
See also: Licensing Hours

Educator Licensing