You are here

Advisory Committee


Bring together stakeholders to collaborate with CDE and CDPHE to vet guidance and considerations for the 2020-21 school year grounded in their experience of school during the spring of 2020 and prior. During the 2020-21 school year, the stakeholders will also collaborate with CDE to inform the development of the Learning Impacts toolkit.

The advisory committee will serve to supplement CDE’s established feedback loops with a group of diverse role individuals. In addition, a public input process will be available to obtain broader stakeholder feedback on the 2020-21 school year.


Previous Meetings

Visit the meeting archive page for previous meeting presentations and summaries.

  • March 19, 2021
  • December 11, 2020
  • September 17, 2020
  • August 6, 2020
  • June 23, 2020
  • May 28, 2020


Committee Members

  • Pat​ Bershinsky, Pikes Peak BOCES executive director
  • Nora Brown, Colorado PTA president, parent and former school board members
  • Cheryl Cook, Thompson School district title coordinator 
  • Meg Cypress, Denver Public Schools 5th grade teacher, 2019 Colorado Teacher of the Year 
  • Mitali Desai, Cherry Creek Schools student, Colorado Youth Advisory Council member  
  • Samantha DuVall, Union Colony Charter School middle school math teacher
  • Karol Gates, Colorado Springs School District 11 curriculum and instruction director
  • Chris Hinger, Pasoga Springs Middle School principal
  • Greg Jackson, Jeffco Public Schools executive director of Transportation 
  • Tammy Johnson, Uncompahgre BOCES executive director and director of special education
  • Erin Kane, Douglas County School District, American Academy executive director of schools

  • Jill Kidd, Pueblo City School director of Nutrition Services
  • Asha Mahamud, DSST Montview High School student, Colorado Youth Congress 
  • Marnie McKercher, Aurora Public School lead nurse
  • Miriam Mondragon, District 49 coordinator of Title programs
  • Patrick Mount, St. Vrain Valley Schools chief information officer
  • Nancy Olivas, Westminister Public Schools parent 
  • Susan Payne, El Paso County Emergency Operations Center member
  • Monica Peloso, Cheyenne Mountain School District 12 School Board president and CASB president 
  • Wendy Rubin, Englewood School superintendent 
  • Kermit Snyder, Rocky Ford School District superintendent 

CDE Staff

  • Katy Anthes, commissioner of education
  • Sarah Blumenthal,  RN, Health and Wellness unit supervisor
  • Rhonda Haniford, associate commissioner of School Quality and Support
  • Alyssa Pearson, deputy commissioner


  • Amy Gammel, environmental protection specialist III
  • Therese Pilonetti, unit manager