The Articles of Confederation (Simplified)

Approved by all 13 states between 1777 and 1781.

The Articles of Confederation has 13 sections called articles. This is a short summary of each article.

- Article 1: Created the name of the combined 13 states as The United States of America.
- Article 2: State governments still had their own powers that were not listed in the Articles of Confederation.
- Article 3: The combined states were responsible for helping to protect each other from attacks.
- Article 4: People can travel freely from state to state; however, criminals who left the state where they committed the crime would be sent back for trial.
- Article 5: Creates the *Congress of the Confederation*. Each state gets one vote in the congress and can send between 2 and 7 people to participate in the congress.
- Article 6: The new central government is responsible for working with other countries, including trade agreements and declaring war. States were required to have trained soldiers who could be ready to fight.
- Article 7: States could choose their own military leaders.
- Article 8: Each state government had to raise money to give to the new central government.
- Article 9: Only the new central government had the power to make declare war, and make peace with foreign countries. The central government was also responsible for assigning Ambassadors to represent the United States in other countries.

- Article 10: Created a group called the *Committee of States* who could act for the *Congress of Confederation* when the Congress was not working.
- Article 11: Stated that Canada could join the new nation if it wanted.
- Article 12: Stated that the new nation agreed to pay for earlier war debts.
- Article 13: Declared that the Articles of Confederation were forever and could only be changed by the *Congress of Confederation* and if all the states agreed.