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To:    Superintendents and Colorado BOCES 
FROM:  Randy Boyer, Assistant Commissioner 
DATE:  February 13, 2015 
Re:  Communicable Diseases and Conditions Reportable by School Personnel 
  under Colorado Law and Related Confidentiality Duties Under Federal Law 

 
 
Over the last several months, there has been an increase in incidences of pertussis and flu in 
Colorado. The Colorado Department of Education (CDE) has  b ee n  ask ed  to provide updated 
guidance to school districts regarding: (1) Schools providing timely reports to Colorado Department 
of Health and Environment (CDPHE) or local health departments about the occurrence of pertussis in 
public school settings; and (2)  state and/or local public health department’s duty and authority to 
conduct public health investigations in response to reports of pertussis and other 24 hour reportable 
conditions (as defined by the CDPHE) in public school settings.    
 
In response to various media outlets reporting the rise in reported cases of the Enterovirus D68, as 
well as the Ebola outbreak, on October 3, 2014, the United States Department of Education 
(USDOE) Family Compliance Office (FPCO) issued the following statement and guidance, 
affirming that the October 2009 USDOE guidance  remains in effect: 
.   
 the Family Policy Compliance Office (FPCO) has received a few inquiries regarding the 
 applicability of the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA) in regard to the 
 disclosure of personally identifiable information from education records to local health 
 officials.  Given these inquiries, we thought it prudent to remind you of the guidance issued by 
 FPCO in October 2009 in response to concerns at that time regarding the H1N1 flu outbreak.  
 This guidance document is available on our website at:
 http://www2.ed.gov/policy/gen/guid/fpco/pdf/ferpa-h1n1.pdf.  Although, the guidance is 
 specific to H1N1, the context of the guidance is applicable today in terms of Enterovirus D68, 
 Ebola, etc.  Additional questions may be forwarded to FERPA@ed.gov . 
 

Set forth below is a summary of applicable law. 
 
State Law Requirements 
 
The State Board of Health is authorized to determine which diseases and conditions are 
dangerous to the public health.  The State Board of Health also has the authority to require 
reports by persons with knowledge and without patient consent to the CDPHE and local 
health d e p a r t m e n t s  of the occurrences of such diseases and conditions. 1   The    
reports must contain "the name, address, sex, diagnosis, and such other information as 
 
 
 

  
1 See C. R.S. §§ 25-1.5-102(1)(a)(II) and 25-1-122. 
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the board determines is necessary to protect the public health."2  The CDPHE and local 
health departments are authorized "to investigate and control the causes of epidemic 
and communicable diseases affecting the public health.” 3

 

 
The State Board of Health has designated certain communicable diseases that must be 
reported to the s ta te  or  l o c a l  p u b l i c  h e a l t h  d ep a r tm e n t  within 24 hours of 
confirmation or suspicion.  The current list of 24-hour reportable communicable diseases and 
conditions, which includes "pertussis" can be accessed 
at: https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/sites/default/files/DC_ComDis_Reportable-Conditions-Health-
Care-Providers.pdf.  
 
The communicable diseases and conditions identified are considered emergency public health 
events due to some combination of the potential seriousness of the illness; degree of 
communicability (and therefore, potential to cause a disease outbreak); and existence of 
specific health intervention (e.g., post-exposure  vaccination, post-exposure administration of 
antibiotics, isolation or quarantine) to interrupt transmission (and prevent /control outbreak).  
To be effective, these public health interventions are, typically, extremely time sensitive. 

 
FERPA Requirements 

 
FERPA applies to all schools that receive federal funding under an applicable program of the 
U.S. Department of Education.  Generally, schools must obtain the parent's written consent 
before releasing information from his/her child's education records. 

 
FERPA contains several exceptions to the general prohibition of disclosure of information from 
education records without prior parent consent.  Applicable here are the following exceptions: 

 
• Disclosure to appropriate officials in cases of health and safety emergencies4

 

• Disclosure of directory information such as a student's name, address, telephone 
number, date and place of birth and dates of attendance. 5   lt should be noted that, in 
order to publish directory information, the school district must give the parent notice of 
the intended publication and an opportunity to opt out of the publication. 

 
Regarding health or safety emergencies, in its recently reaffirmed 2009 guidance, the Family Policy 
Compliance Office states as follows: 
 
 an educational agency or institution is responsible for making a determination whether 
 to make a disclosure of personally identifiable information on a case-by-case basis, taking 
 into account the totality of the circumstances pertaining to the threat. If the school district 
 or school determines that there is an articulable and significant threat to the health or  safety 
 of the student or other individuals and that certain parties need personally identifiable 
 information from education records to protect the health or safety of the student or other 
 individuals, it may disclose that information to such appropriate parties without 
 consent. 34 CFR § 99.36. This is a flexible standard under which the  Department defers to 
 school administrators so that they may bring appropriate resources to bear on the 
 situation, provided that there is a rational basis for the educational agency’s or institution’s 
 decisions about the nature of the emergency and the appropriate parties to whom information 
 should be disclosed. We note also that, within a reasonable period of time after a disclosure 
 is made under this exception, an educational agency or institution must record in the 
 student’s education records the articulable and significant threat that formed the basis for the 
 disclosure and the parties to whom information was disclosed. 34 CFR § 99.32(a)(5).  
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Thus, it continues to be the guidance of the CDE that those communicable diseases and conditions 
that are requ i red  to  be  repor ted  wi th in  24  hours  and considered to be emergency public 
health events should generally be considered to fall within the "health or safety" exception to 
FERPA's "prior parent consent" rule. 
 
lt should be noted that FERPA applies only to information in education records; it does not 
apply to information known or obtained from sources other than education records, such as 
personal observations or verbal communication with parents. Thus, information that is not 
contained in education records, including direct observation of those communicable diseases 
and conditions that are considered emergency public health events, should not be considered 
as falling within FERPA's "prior parent consent" rule. 

 
Finally, a school district may seek to obtain prior written parent consent for release by school 
officials of information required by Colorado law through a consent form presented to parents 
during the annual registration process.  Prior parent consent obtained in this manner would 
apply to situations involving not only health emergencies but also to other diseases and 
conditions, such as varicella (chicken pox), authorized by the State Board of Health to be 
reported to the CDPHE and local health departments within 7 days of diagnosis.    
To report a communicable disease:  
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/cdphe/report-a-disease  

 
Note: This is guidance issued by the Colorado Department of Education and does not 
constitute legal advice. If you need legal advice, please contact your legal counsel. 

 
 
 
 
 
2 Colo. Rev. Stat §25-1-122(1) 
3 Colo. Rev. Stat. §25-1.5-102(1)(a)(I). 

````` 4  20 U.S.C. § 1232g(b)(1)(l) and (h); 34 C.F.R. Part 99.36 
      5 20 U.S.C. § 1232g(a)(5)(A) and (B); 34 C.F.R. Part 99.36 
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