You are here

State Council for Educator Effectiveness

What We Do

The work of the 15-member State Council for Educator Effectiveness was guided by Colorado’s landmark teacher and principal evaluation law S.B. 10-191. It requires evaluating educators at least once each school year and basing at least half of teachers’ and principals’ evaluations on their students’ academic growth.

The Council had four main roles:

  • Define teacher and principal effectiveness
  • Establish levels of effectiveness and performance standards
  • Develop guidelines for a fair, rigorous and transparent system to evaluate teachers and principals
  • Recommend state policy changes to prepare, evaluate and support teachers and principals

The Council worked to balance the diverse needs of Colorado’s 178 school districts with state requirements. Ultimately, districts are required to ensure their educator evaluation system adheres with the state’s requirements.

Reports & Recommendations

May 2013

March 2013

April 2011

In April 2011 the Council recommended to the state board of education a new, comprehensive educator evaluation system that is uniquely Colorado and based on best practices and proven research.

Report Appendices

The Council monitored the Colorado State Model Evaluation System system and identified improvements based on results of the two-year pilot period during the 2011-2012 school year. The model system provides an option for districts to use as they implement the requirements of S.B. 10-191. The Council was sunset in the spring of 2017.

Educator effectiveness work is complex, bold and constantly evolving. But, the Council’s commitment to supporting educators and ensuring that every student has an effective teacher and principal, which is now carried out by the Educator Effectiveness team, is unwavering.