You are here

News Release - Commissioner Anthes announces new Teacher Cabinet members

Oct. 16, 2019

Commissioner Anthes announces new Teacher Cabinet members

DENVER –  Education Commissioner Katy Anthes today appointed 12 additional members to her Teacher Cabinet, formed in 2017 to provide the department with direct feedback and advice from educators on Colorado education policy.
“I’m excited to welcome the new teacher cabinet members to this amazing group of educators. The teacher cabinet has provided incredible insight into the valuable work that happens in the classroom, and it’s helping to shape education policy in our state,” said Commissioner Anthes. “It was incredibly difficult to choose the new members from such an outstanding group of applicants, but my ultimate approach was to ensure diverse perspectives with educators representing all regions of Colorado, ethnicities, grade levels and urban, rural and suburban communities.”
The teacher cabinet will meet at least four times a year, with its first meeting expected in October. Members serve two-year terms on a volunteer basis.
Learn more about the Commissioner’s Teacher Cabinet.

Commissioner’s Teacher Cabinet Members

New teacher cabinet members:

  • Michael Bautista - Career and technical education teacher, Boulder Technical Education Center, Boulder Valley School District
  • Kenneth Benson – Social studies teacher, Niwot High School, St. Vrain Valley School District
  • Kathleen Campbell – English language arts teacher, STRIVE-Prep Kepner, Denver Public Schools
  • Linda Donaldson – Mathematics teacher, Skoglund Middle School, Center Consolidated School District 26JT
  • Samantha DuVall –  Mathematics teacher, Union Colony Schools, Greeley-Evans School District 6
  • Bonnie Grover – English language arts teacher, Avery Parsons Elementary School, Buena Vista School District
  • Scott Hicks – Social studies teacher, East Grand Middle School, East Grand School District
  • Emily Muellenberg – English language arts teacher, Highlands Ranch High School, Douglas Country School District
  • Lacey Taschdjian – Mathematics teacher, Adams City Middle School, Adams County School District 14
  • Jamie Odum – Elementary teacher, Primero Elementary School, Primero School District RE-2
  • Carina Raetz – English as a second language (ESL) teacher, Academy International Elementary School, Academy School District 20
  • Julie Sale - Science, mathematics and social studies teacher, Hope Learning Academy, Douglas County School District

Continuing teacher cabinet members:

  • Justin Bankey – Music teacher, Cactus Valley Elementary, Garfield School District RE-2
  • Margaret "Meg" Cypress (2019 Colorado Teacher of the Year) – Elementary teacher, Bradley International School, Denver Public Schools
  • Andrew Guinn – Mathematics teacher, Pagosa Springs Middle School, Archuleta School District 50JT
  • Dan Haught – Speech-language pathologist, Mesa Elementary/Westminster Academy for International Studies – Westminster Public Schools
  • Terry Highfield – Elementary teacher, S. Christa McAuliffe STEM Academy, Greeley-Evans School District 6
  • Valerie Lovato – Elementary teacher, Eagleton Elementary, Denver Public Schools
  • Jocelyn Nguyen-Reed – Information technology pathways lead, Cherry Creek Innovation Campus, Cherry Creek School District 5
  • Nathan Pearsall – Social studies teacher, Vista Ridge High School, Falcon School District 49
  • Christina Randle (2018 Colorado Teacher of the Year) – Elementary teacher, Soaring Eagles Elementary School, Harrison School District No. 2
  • Kevin Vaughn – Elementary teacher, Dolores Elementary, Dolores School District RE-4A