Workforce Diploma Pilot Progrs

HB 19-1236 Fact Sheet

PROGRAM OVERVIEW

Approximately 350,000 adults in Colorado do not have a high school credential,
and in order to meet workforce goals for future economic growth these
Coloradans need to be reengaged. The Workforce Diploma Pilot Program
(HB19-1236; C.R.S. 22-10.3-101) was established in 2019 to support Colorado
adults ages 21 and older without a high school credential. This pilot will
operate for three years (2019-2022), giving financial incentives for eligible
providers to reengage Colorado adults seeking a high school diploma and other
credentials. For the 2019-20 fiscal year, the legislature appropriated $1 million
for reimbursement payments to qualified providers.

QUALIFIED PROVIDERS

To be eligible for this pilot, providers must be:

e A public, nonprofit, or private accredited, diploma-granting institution
with at least two years of experience in providing adult dropout
recovery services, including recruitment, learning plan development,
and proactive coaching and mentoring; or

o Alocal education provider (defined in C.R.S. 22-10-103(7) as an entity
that provides appropriate and effective adult education and literacy
programs recoghized by the Colorado Department of Education).

Qualified providers must report data annually to the Office of Adult Education
Initiatives at the Colorado Department of Education (CDE) about adults served
by the program, including the number and types of credentials earned.

LEARNER ELIGIBILITY
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OUTCOMES REIMBURSEMENT
Qualified providers may submit
reimbursements for each eligible
learner’s completion or attainment
of the following outcomes:

e 51,000 - accredited high school
diploma
e $250 - each half-credit
e $250 - employability skills
certification program equal to at
least one Carnegie unit
e Industry-recognized credentials:
0 $250 - requiring up to 50
hours of training
0 $500 - requiring 51-100
hours of training
0 $750 - requiring more than
100 hours of training

The maximum amount that a
qualified provider may receive per
eligible learner is $7,000 for the first
time the learner completes the
course.

For the provider to be reimbursed, each learner must meet the following requirements:

e s atleast 21 years of age,
e |s a Colorado resident, and
e lacks a high school diploma

REQUEST FOR QUALIFICATIONS PROCESS

CDE will publish information about the Request for Qualifications process in the fall of each year. A qualified provider is
eligible for program payments for outcomes achieved 30 or more days after CDE publishes the list of qualified providers.
Once CDE determines that a provider is qualified under the program, the provider remains a qualified provider without
the need to reapply annually, unless removed for failing to meet performance standards.

WHERE CAN | LEARN MORE?

e Workforce Diploma Pilot Program Page:
e Office of Adult Education Initiatives Page:
e View all CDE fact sheets:



https://leg.colorado.gov/bills/hb19-1236
https://advance.lexis.com/api/document/collection/statutes-legislation/id/5TYF-BKT0-004D-10WD-00008-00?cite=C.R.S.%2022-10-103&context=1000516
http://www.cde.state.co.us/cdeadult/wdpp
http://www.cde.state.co.us/cdeadult
http://www.cde.state.co.us/Communications/factsheetsandfaqs
http://www.cde.state.co.us/communications/factsheetsandfaqs
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