You are here

Colorado READ Act

Teacher Reading to Students

About the Colorado READ Act

The Colorado Reading to Ensure Academic Development Act (Colorado READ Act) was passed by the Colorado legislature in 2012, giving the state the guiding philosophy, structure and resources to get children reading at grade level by the time they enter the fourth grade.

Stay Informed

Please sign up for the READ Act communication list in order to stay informed of changes and updates related to SB19-199, READ Act Implementation Measures. CDE will announce ways to participate and provide your feedback throughout the implementation process.

Sign up for the READ Act communication list

2019 READing Conference Highlighted Speaker: Steven Dykstra, PhD

 

In October 2019, the department hosted the 5th Annual READing conference. Steven Dykstra, Ph.D., a psychologist from Milwaukee Wisconsin, where he does writing, speaking, and advocacy on the subject of reading and literacy, was one of the keynote presenters. His presentation focused on our shared history of reading instruction - to show us how we got here, where that is, and how we might find the courage to do better.


Colorado READ Act Changes: SB19-199

After six years of implementation of the READ Act, schools and districts were not seeing the dramatic improvements in reading levels envisioned by state leaders.

  • Colorado has seen only a 2 percent increase in third graders meeting or exceeding expectations on the Colorado Measures of Academic Success tests in English language arts.
  • Statewide data shows only a 1 percent reduction in the number of students identified with a significant reading deficiency (SRD).

Reviewing the implementation of the READ Act, policy makers identified challenges that contributed to its lower-than-desired impact:

  • The statute defined clear allowable uses of READ Act per-pupil intervention funds, but it did not provide clarity regarding accountability for the use of funds.
  • Reporting requirements for the READ Act make it challenging to identify instructional programming and interventions effective in reducing the number of students identified with SRDs.
  • The need for increasing teacher knowledge on evidence-based practices for teaching reading. Continue reading.

SB19 199 webpage

News and Events

Preliminary Interest for K-3 Training in Teaching Evidence-Based Reading

Districts are being asked to complete a short survey by December 1, 2019 on their interest in allowing CDE to train K – 3 teachers on how to teach evidence-based reading, as required by new legislation. The link has been sent directly to school district READ Act contacts.

Recent changes to the READ Act (SB19-199) require K – 3 teachers to have completed a training in teaching evidence-based reading by the 2021-22 school year or to provide evidence that they have met this requirement. Read more regarding the preliminary interest survey.

READ Act Rules Noticed

The State Board of Education noticed a rulemaking process for Rules for the Administration of the Colorado Reading to Ensure Academic Development Act (READ Act), 1 CCR 301-9.  This update to the rules with incorporate changes to the READ Act that occurred in the 2018 and 2019 legislative sessions.  Rulemaking hearings are scheduled for the January and February State Board of Education meetings. Read more.

READ Act: Request for Advisory List Submission: Instructional Programming

The Request for Advisory List Submission: Instructional Programming is open. The review is a two part process for vendors to submit instructional programs: core, supplemental and intervention to be reviewed for inclusion on the Colorado Department of Education READ Act Advisory List.  Part 1 - Eligibility opens September 30, 2019 and will close October 30, 2019. Read more.

Monthly READ Act Informational Webinars

In order to keep educators and other stakeholders informed of the changes in the READ Act brought about by SB19-199, CDE will host monthly informational webinars.

Register for December 18th Webinar

View prior SB19 199 webinars.

Early Literacy Grant Rules Approved

SB 19-199 amended the Colorado READ Act and incorporated changes to the Early Literacy Grant program requiring an update to the rules. The state board approved the amended rules for the administration of the Early Literacy Grant program during the September board meeting. Updates include increased funding, additional reporting requirements and training for K-3 teachers.

 


Frequently Accessed Resources

Early Literacy Grant: