## Transition 101 Module 2 Pre and post test

- 1) What are the requirements of I13? And give a component of each one.
- 2) Is it required to send the student a notice of meeting?
- 3) What is the age of majority in Colorado and when should the student and family receive notification?

Answer Key is on page 2

## **Answer Key**

- 1) What are the requirements of I13? And give a component of each one.
  - a. Appropriate measurable postsecondary goals related to training/education, career/employment, and, where appropriate, independent living skills
    - i. The postsecondary goals should succinctly state what the student will do and be based on findings from transition assessment conducted with the student.
    - ii. Use an active rather than passive voice, e.g., "The student will participate in on-the-job training," rather than, "Will receive on-the-job training."
  - b. Postsecondary goals updated.
    - i. The postsecondary goal is clearly stated and updated.
    - ii. The statements should have some connection to the identified postsecondary goals.
  - c. Transition Assessment
    - i. Transition assessment is meant to be a continuous process which should inform the identification of, development of, fine-tuning of the postsecondary goals.
  - d. Transition Services
    - i. A coordinated set of (specific and individualized) activities provided by the "community of adults" that reasonably enable a student to reach his/her postsecondary goals.
    - ii. Courses of Study
      - 1. Multi-year, specific and individualized to the student and linked to postsecondary goals.
    - iii. Annual Goals
      - 1. What the student will learn within the next year that will move the student toward achieving his/her postsecondary goals and link to the PSGs / transition services.
  - e. Required IEP Components
    - i. Student Invitation- Invitation addressed specifically to the student and provided prior to the meeting.
    - ii. Outside Agency Participation
      - 1. If appropriate with written prior consent of parents and this requires an Invitation

- 2) Is it required to send the student a notice of meeting?

  It must be noted that the purpose of the meeting is consideration of postsecondary goals and transition services.
- 3) What is the age of majority in Colorado?

  The age of majority in the state of Colorado is 18 years old. However, for educational purposes, parents of students will retain educational rights within the public-school system until the student is 21 years of age.