Site Index | CDE Offices | Staff Directory

Standards Review and Revision - Social Studies Committee

Colorado Academic Standards: All Students, All Standards

December 2017 Draft of Proposed Social Studies Standards

Although the public feedback system is now closed, the links below contain screen shots of that system to use as a reference until the final proposed revisions are developed after the last committee meeting in February

Screenshot booklet of draft recommendations for social studies: history (PDF)

Screenshot booklet of draft recommendations for social studies: geography (PDF)

Screenshot booklet of draft recommendations for social studies: economics (including personal financial literacy) (PDF)

Screenshot booklet of draft recommendations for social studies: civics (PDF)

Committee Meetings

Committee meetings are open to the public. The public is welcome to observe but not participate in committee meetings. Please note the public observation norms.


First Committee Meeting

Second Committee Meeting

Third Committee Meeting


Fourth Committee Meeting

Fifth Committee Meeting

  • Feb. 23, 2018, 9:00am - 4:00pm
    RAFT Lab (A few doors down from RAFT Colorado.)
    3821 Steele Street
    Denver, CO 80205
    Directions | Finding the Building

    Meeting Summary

Content-Specific Resources

Committee Members


  • Chris Elnicki, K-12 Social Studies Coordinator, Cherry Creek Schools

  • Andy Roob, Social Studies Teacher on Special Assignment (TOSA), School District 27J

Content Specialist:

Committee Members:

  • Corey Sell, Assistant Professor of Elementary Education & Literacy, Metropolitan State University of Denver
  • Ryanne Van Sciver, K-5 Social Studies Coordinator, Adams 12
  • Della Hoffman, 5th/6th Grade Preservice Teacher
  • Rose Rothmier, Retired Teacher
  • Charles Kastens, 4th Grade Classroom Teacher, Cherry Creek Schools
  • Charlee Archuleta, 6th Grade Math/Social Studies Teacher, Colorado Springs School District 11
  • Michelle Pearson, Educator, Adams 12 Five Star Schools
  • Andrew Bristol, Middle School Coordinator of Curriculum, Instruction, and Assessment, Harrison School District 2
  • Lisa Jackson, 7th Grade Social Studies Teacher, Delta County School District
  • Jill Martinez, Department Head-Social Studies, Del Norte School District
  • Nicole Morgan, 8th Grade Social Studies Teacher, Cherry Creek Schools
  • Alyssa Wooten, K-12 Program Implementation Manager, EverFi
  • Kurt Knierim, Social Studies Teacher, Poudre School District
  • David L. Hazlett, Social Studies Teacher/ Department Head Fountain-Fort Carson High School, Fountain-Fort Carson School District 8
  • Jenny Pettit, Social Studies Coordinator, St. Vrain Valley School District
  • Tim Kubik, Principal Consultant, Project ARC, LLC
  • Sarah Hurd, Social Studies Content Specialist - Secondary Focus, Jefferson County Schools
  • William W Daniel, Teacher, Littleton Public Schools
  • Kim Davis, Content Facilitator, Social Studies K-12, Mesa County Valley School District 51
  • Angela Anderson, Social Studies Teacher, Bear Creek High School, Jefferson County Schools
  • Marc Johnson, Education Program Director, Colorado Council for Economic Education
  • Peter R. Wright, Social Studies Team Lead and Teacher, Denver Public Schools
  • James Wilson, Social Studies Teacher - Department Chair - Instructional Coach, Morgan County School District
  • Susan Sharkey, Director, National Endowment for Financial Education
  • Kirk R. Salmela, Junior and High School Principal, Springfield School District
  • Carla Carino, Social Studies teacher, Denver Public Schools
  • Kelly Jones-Wagy, Social Studies Teacher, Cherry Creek Schools
  • Jessica L. Pault-Atiase, Assistant City Attorney - Water & Utilities, City of Boulder

Contact Us

Stephanie Hartman, Social Studies Content Specialist, or 303-866-6577

< Return to Standards Review and Revision Committees
< Return to Standards Review and Revision Home

Quick Links


Contact Us

Colorado Dept. of Education
201 East Colfax Ave.
Denver, CO 80203
Phone: 303-866-6600
Fax: 303-830-0793
Contact CDE

CDE Hours
Mon - Fri 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
See also: Licensing Hours

Educator Licensing 

WCC Access