You are here

History, Culture, Social Contributions, and Civil Government in Education Commission

History, Culture, Social Contributions, and Civil Government in Education Commission

During the 2019 legislative session, the Colorado General Assembly passed House Bill 19-1192 concerning the Inclusion of Matters Relating to American Minorities in the Teaching of Social Contributions in History and Civil Government in Public Schools.  This legislation creates a Commission appointed by the Governor, the Commissioner of Education, and the President of the State Historical Society.  

The Commission is charged with: 

  • making recommendations to the State Board of Education and the Colorado Department of Education (CDE), in conjunction with the 6-year standards review, revisions to the Colorado Academic Standards for history and civics to further the discovery, interpretation, and learning of the history, culture, social contributions, in the civil government of the US and CO;
  • working cooperatively and in conjunction with the CDE and local school boards to assist local education agencies in developing and promoting programs that engage students in the process of discovery and interpretation of the subjects and topics set forth in the law;
  • meeting at least twice a year; and
  • participating in community forums.


HB19-1192 specifies that the membership of the Commission consist of the following members:

  • Two members of the American Indian community
  • Two members from the Latino community
  • Two members from the African American community
  • Two members from the Asian American community
  • One member from the Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender community
  • One member who is a teacher and holds an initial or professional license
  • One member from an organization that represents either school superintendents or local school boards
  • Two members representing higher education.  One member must represent a large state institution of higher education, and one member must represent a smaller state institution of higher education.
  • Two members from the Colorado Department of Education who are non-voting members
  • The President of the State Historical Society or the president's designee who is a non-voting member.

 History, Culture, Social Contributions, and Civil Government in Education Commission Members

Majel Boxer

Joanna Bruno

Brianna Buentello

Eric Carpio (2020-2021)

Nooshin Farjadi

Lana Hailemariam, Co-Chair

Stephanie Hartman

Blanche Mitchell Hughes

Samuel Long

Andres Carlos Martinez

Emma Rae Martinez

Rafael Reyes Orona

Laura Janelle Owens

Tung Thanh Pham

Teresa Lynn Steele Thomson

Samuel Leroy Turner II, Co-Chair

William Wei (2019-2020) 

Meeting Information

All meetings of the Commission will be open to the public; however, only Commission members will have an active role in the meeting. ​

  • Meeting dates and locations 

HB 19-1192 Commission Report on Standards Revision Recommendations

Contact Information

Joanna Bruno, Ph.D.