



Colorado Department of Education – Communications Office 201 East Colfax Ave.
Room 207

Denver, CO 80203 Phone: 303-866-3898 Fax: 303-866-6938

Sept. 27, 2010

News Release

Colorado Legacy Foundation Names Three New Members To Board Of Trustees

The Colorado Legacy Foundation has named three new members to its board of trustees: Gregory Anderson, Adele Phelan and Sandra Smyser.

The Colorado Legacy Foundation invests in promising strategies to improve public education. Its approach is to identify promising ideas, invest in those innovative ideas, evaluate results and share best practices with Colorado schools and school districts.

Representing education, business, government and the nonprofit community, the foundation's board of trustees identifies and supports the Colorado Legacy Foundation's initiatives, which focus on:

- Bolstering the effectiveness of teachers and principals
- Promoting student and staff health and wellness
- Publishing best practices guides to showcase what's working in Colorado
- Hosting the Commissioner's Choice Awards to recognize Colorado school districts and schools that apply best practices and get results
- Funding Colorado Legacy Schools to increase minority and low-income student enrollment in rigorous Advanced Placement (AP) coursework in math, science and English – ultimately preparing more students for careers in science, technology, engineering and mathematics (also known as STEM)

Inspired by CDE's "Forward Thinking" strategic plan, the privately funded

Colorado Legacy Foundation is the first foundation in the country to be launched by a state department of education.

"The Colorado Legacy Foundation's only agenda is to improve student achievement in Colorado. It's at the core of what we do," said Executive Director Helayne Jones. "We're fortunate that those on our board of trustees – and the three new members – are dedicated to investing their time and business and education expertise to help the foundation address emerging educational issues and spark innovation in schools throughout Colorado."

About the three new members:

Gregory Anderson

Anderson is the dean of the Morgridge College of Education at the University of Denver and a tenured associate professor in education. Before coming to DU in 2009, Anderson was an associate professor at Columbia University's Teachers College, Program in Higher and Postsecondary Education. In 2006, Anderson was granted an extended leave from Teachers College to become the higher education policy program officer for the Ford Foundation in New York. He was responsible for overseeing one of the largest portfolios at the foundation featuring both international and domestic higher education grants. Anderson also sat on executive committees of multi-foundation partnerships and foundation-wide initiatives involving the U.S., Africa, Central and Latin America and Asia. In 2008, he was appointed by the vice president of the foundation's Knowledge, Creativity and Freedom Program Division to lead a strategic planning team responsible for developing a new vision for the U.S. and international higher education programming. Anderson earned a Ph.D. in sociology from the Graduate Center at the City University of New York currently is a member of the editorial board for the Review of Higher Education.

Adele Phelan

President emeritus of the Clayton Foundation, the early childhood development organization she led from 1985 to 1998, Phelan has served educational causes most of her career. She has been a teacher and administrator at the secondary and college levels, and from 1975 to 1983 was president of Loretto Heights College in Denver. Phelan currently serves on the boards of the Denver Hospice, Metropolitan State College of Denver, Caring for Colorado Foundation and Invest in Kids. She holds a bachelor's degree from Webster College, a master's degree from St. Louis University and a master's degree from the University of Minnesota.

Sandra Smyser

Smyser is the superintendent of Eagle County Schools, a district that is known for implementing innovative practices. This is her thirteenth year as superintendent in Colorado and California school districts. Her prior work experience has included working as an assistant superintendent, a principal and a bilingual special education teacher. Smyser currently serves as the superintendent representative on the State Council for Educator Effectiveness. She earned a Ph.D. in special education from the University of California, Riverside. Smyser also serves on the board of the Youth Foundation and the Education Committee of the Vail Valley Foundation.

Other members of the board of trustees include:

- Stephen Shogan, board chair, neurosurgeon, Colorado Neurosurgery Associates
- Marla Williams, board vice-chair and secretary, attorney, Holme Roberts & Owen LLP
- Karen LeFever, board treasurer, executive vice president, Educational Services of America
- Elaine Gantz Berman, member, Colorado State Board of Education; former board president, Denver Public Schools
- Lt. Governor Barbara O'Brien, former president, Colorado Children's Campaign
- Donna Lynne, president, Kaiser Permanente Colorado
- George Sparks, president and CEO, Denver Museum of Nature & Science
- Gary Yourtz, past president, Du-Wald Steel Corporation (retired)
- Dwight D. Jones (Ex. Officio), commissioner of education, Colorado Department of Education; former superintendent, Fountain-Fort Carson School District 8
- Bruce Benson (honorary member), president, University of Colorado
- Dan Ritchie (honorary member), former chancellor, University of Denver

For more, visit: www.colegacy.org

#

For more information, contact Helayne Jones, executive director, Colorado Legacy Foundation, at 303-736-6477.