cde

Colorado Department of Education – Communications Office 201 East Colfax Ave. Room 207 Denver, CO 80203 Phone: 303-866-3898 Fax: 303-866-6938

June 10, 2010

News Release

Sky Vista Middle School Math Teacher And Woodland Park High School Science Teacher Receive Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching

The Colorado Department of Education announced today that Carrie Heaney, a math teacher at Sky Vista Middle School (Cherry Creek School District 5) and Aaron Sams, a science teacher at Woodland Park High School (Woodland Park School District RE-2) are recipients of the prestigious Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching.

The Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching is awarded annually to the best pre-college-level science and mathematics teachers from across the country. The winners are selected by a panel of distinguished scientists, mathematicians, and educators following an initial selection process done at the state level. Each year the award alternates between mathematics and science teachers teaching kindergarten through sixth-grade, and those teaching seventh through twelfth-grades. This year it goes to teachers teaching seventh through twelfth-grades.

Winners of this Presidential honor receive a \$10,000 award from the National Science Foundation to be used at their discretion. They also receive an expenses-paid trip to Washington, D.C. for an awards ceremony and several days of educational and celebratory events, including visits with members of Congress and science agency leaders. Since 1983, more than 3,700 teachers from the 50 states and four U.S. jurisdictions (American Samoa, Guam, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, and the U.S. Virgin Islands) have been selected to join the dynamic network of Presidential Awardees.

The network serves as a vital resource for improving science, technology, engineering, and mathematics education and helping to keep America globally competitive.

Visit <u>www.paemst.org</u> for eligibility requirements, nomination guidelines, and application information.

For more information about the award or nominations, contact the Science PAEMST Colorado State Coordinator, Barry Cartwright at <u>cartwright b@cde.state.co.us</u> or 303-866-6187 or the Math PAEMST Colorado State Coordinator, Melissa Colsman, at <u>colsman_m@cde.state.co.us</u> or 303-866-6737.

For more information, contact Mark Stevens, 303-866-3898, or Megan McDermott, 303-866-2334, in the CDE Office of Communications. To sign up for the CDE e-mail news service, please visit http://www.cde.state.co.us/Communications/index.html.

Follow us on Twitter at http://twitter.com/codepted

#