

Colorado Department of Education – Communications Office 201 East Colfax Ave. Room 103 Denver, CO 80203

Phone: 303-866-3898 Fax: 303-866-6938

Jan. 20, 2010

News Release

Re-Appointed Quality Teachers Commission Meets Thursday, Jan. 21

The Quality Teachers Commission will meet Thursday, Jan. 21 from 10 a.m. to noon at the Colorado Department of Education, 201 E. Colfax Ave., First Floor Board Room, in Denver.

The 13-member commission was established by Senate Bill 07-140 (The Quality Teachers Act) to examine the development and implementation of a unique teacher identifier system. The commission is also expected to examine the teacher gap in Colorado and gather data from school districts on how they are reducing that gap. The term "teacher gap" refers to the phenomenon that poor and minority students are more likely to be instructed by less-qualified or less-experienced teachers than their more affluent and white peers.

Already underway for two years, the commission was recently reappointed by Gov. Bill Ritter Jr.'s office. Based upon their recommendations, House Bill 09-1065 (Educator Identifier Pilot Act) calls for the creation of an educator identifier system. CDE is expected to build the identifier system this year in consultation with the commission.

Commission members include: Angelika Schroeder (Boulder, CO) representing the state board; Robert Hammond (Erie) representing CDE; Ian Macgillivray (Denver) representing the Colorado Commission on Higher Education; Liz Aybar (Denver) representing the Gov.'s Office; Michele Ann Conroy (Steamboat Springs) representing a statewide teacher organization; Bill Hodges (Castle Rock) representing a statewide school executives organization; Scott Groginsky (Black

Hawk) representing a statewide school district board organization; Njal Schold (Durango) representing teachers; Rosann Ward (Aurora) representing an education or advocacy group; and Nella Anderson (Gunnison) representing deans of education. The commission has three vacant seats.

The Jan. 21 agenda includes:

- Welcome and introductions
- Orientation to history of the Quality Teachers Commission
- Discussion of S.B. 07-140 and H.B. 09-1065
- Outline of future work
- Progress report from CDE staff on creating an educator identifier system
- Membership of the commission and selection of chair and vice chair
- Set future meeting dates and locations

The public is welcome to observe the meeting.

For more information, contact Lisa Medler at medler_l@cde.state.co.us or 303-866-6993.

For more information, contact Mark Stevens, 303-866-3898, or Megan McDermott, 303-866-2334, in the CDE Office of Communications. To sign up for the CDE e-mail news service, please visit http://www.cde.state.co.us/Communications/index.html.

Follow us on Twitter at http://twitter.com/codepted

#