cde

Colorado Department of Education – Communications Office 201 East Colfax Ave. Room 103 Denver, CO 80203 Phone: 303-866-3898 Fax: 303-866-6938

Dec. 17, 2009

News Release

Springfield High School's Richard Hargrove Named Title I Distinguished Principal; Las Animas Elementary School's Bernadette and Susan Medina Named Title I Distinguished Teachers

The Colorado Department of Education announced today that the recipient of the Title I Distinguished Principal of the Year Award is Richard Hargrove, principal of Springfield High School in Springfield.

The department also announced that sisters Bernadette and Susan Medina from Las Animas Elementary School in Las Animas are Title I Distinguished Teachers of the Year.

The Colorado Distinguished Title I Principal award annually recognizes one Title I school principal who demonstrates outstanding commitment and excellence in leadership. Hargrove was nominated for the award by Springfield teacher Renee Loflin, who said Hargrove "is not only an academic leader, but a model of citizenship as well."

She added: "I have found myself trying to model his positive approach many times with the citizens I teach. I can only hope to inspire them as much as he inspires me to teach and reach out to all students."

Mr. Hargrove has been a principal for five years, all at Springfield High School. Hargrove was selected for this award in part because of Springfield's outstanding growth in Colorado Student Assessment Program (CSAP) scores. Sixty-nine percent of the Title I students scored proficient on the reading and/or math portion of CSAP or were classified as on track to catch up to proficiency. "Effective, building-level leadership is fundamental to a school's success," said Patrick Chapman, executive director of the Office of Federal Programs at CDE. "We are impressed by the gains made by Springfield High School students and pleased to recognize Hargrove for his hard work and dedication to student success."

Title I Distinguished Teachers

The Colorado Department of Education also announced the recipients of the 2009-2010 Title I Distinguished Teacher award are Bernadette and Susan Medina, first grade teachers at Las Animas Elementary School in Las Animas.

The Colorado Distinguished Title I Teacher award annually recognizes teachers from Title I schools who demonstrate outstanding commitment and excellence in teaching.

Susan and Bernadette Medina were nominated for this award by Principal Libby Hiza.

"The Medina sisters...believe that there is no excuse for any student's failure to achieve," said Ms. Hiza. "This is reflected in their daily interactions with students, parents and colleagues. They tell their students, 'We are good teachers of reading. If you do what we tell you, you will learn to read.' And they are correct!"

Bernadette and Susan Medina have been teachers for more than 20 years, all at Las Animas Elementary School. Las Animas Elementary serves a diverse population of students, with over 50 percent of students from minority backgrounds and over 75 percent qualifying for free/reduced lunch.

"Las Animas Elementary School is fortunate to have teachers of the caliber and quality of Bernadette and Susan Medina," said Patrick Chapman, executive director of the Office of Federal Program Administration at CDE. "These teachers not only promote the academic growth of their students, but are school and community leaders. They are outstanding representatives of dedicated teachers across the state."

The Medina sisters were selected for this award because of their students' achievement in reading and their strong leadership in the school and the community. Over the past two years, 100 percent of

the students in their classrooms have achieved Benchmark on the DIBELS reading assessment. In addition, 68 of the 79 students doubled the DIBELS Benchmark score of 40 by registering year-end results of 80 or above.

"Congratulations to Mr. Hargrove and the Medina sisters," said Colorado Commissioner of Education Dwight D. Jones. "Thank for serving as terrific role models for educators across the state and thank you for all you do every day to improve student achievement in your schools. Your dedication is deeply appreciated as is the impact you are having on student achievement."

For more information, contact Mark Stevens, 303-866-3898, or Megan McDermott, 303-866-2334, in the CDE Office of Communications. To sign up for the CDE e-mail news service, please visit http://www.cde.state.co.us/Communications/index.html.

Follow us on Twitter at http://twitter.com/codepted

#