

Colorado Department of Education – Communications Office 201 East Colfax Ave. Room 103 Denver, CO 80203

Phone: 303-866-3898 Fax: 303-866-6938

Oct. 16, 2009

**News Release** 

## Stakeholder Meetings Begin Monday, Oct. 26 as Process Begins to Identify New State Assessments

A new Assessment Stakeholder Committee will gather for the first time Monday, Oct. 26. The purpose is to provide advice to the Colorado Department of Education concerning the redesign of the state assessment system.

This revised system is expected to be implemented for the first time in the 2011-2012 school year and will follow the rollout of the new state model content standards.

In addition to incorporating the expectations of the updated state content standards, the system will also meet requirements of S.B. 08-212, which calls for establishing a seamless pathway from preschool into college or the workplace. S.B. 08-212 is also known as the "Preschool to Postsecondary Education Alignment Act" or the Colorado Achievement Plan for Kids (CAP4K).

That legislation also called for both school readiness and postsecondary and workforce readiness assessments.

A stakeholder advisory group has been assembled to help frame the issues of the current state assessment system (the Colorado Student Assessment Program or CSAP), identify suggested improvements and guide the work of subcommittee groups. Subcommittees will be created to address formative assessment, school readiness, postsecondary and workforce readiness, summative assessment and

the assessments for special populations (English Language Learners and students on an Individualized Education Plan).

The first meeting of the stakeholders is scheduled for Monday, Oct. 26, at the Holiday Inn Select at 455 S. Colorado Blvd. in Denver. The meeting will run from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Subsequent meetings will be held in Boulder (Monday, Nov. 9) and Colorado Springs (Friday, Dec. 11).

The stakeholders committee is expected to meet in eight full-day sessions over the next 10 months.

Stakeholders include 39 percent K-12 staff, 24 percent higher education staff, 18 percent business, and other community and academic representatives. The full list of stakeholders is below.

S.B. 08-212 is also the legislation that required the Colorado Department of Education to revise the content standards for 13 subjects. That process is nearing completion. Proposed standards are due to be presented to the Colorado State Board of Education in December 2009.

"The goal of this entire revision effort is to modernize the state's standards and assessments in a way that helps ensure all students are prepared for college and career success," said Commissioner of Education Dwight D. Jones. "The work to revise and update the model content standards sparked a thoughtful and deep conversation from all corners of state and our goal is to ensure that the work on the assessments welcomes all points of view and yields a state assessment that delivers meaningful results for students, teachers and parents."

Commissioner Jones added that the department will post the stakeholder committee's work online and will invite public reaction as the work progresses. The department will publish a feedback system on the CDE Web site at: <a href="http://www.cde.state.co.us/asmtrev/home">http://www.cde.state.co.us/asmtrev/home</a>.

## **Assessment Stakeholders Committee**

- Tim Albers, director of admissions, Western State College.
- Geri Anderson, assistant vice-president & provost, Colorado Community College System
- Jane Barnes, member of the Jefferson County Schools Board of Education and immediate past president of the CASB Board of Directors

- Carol Basile, director, University of Colorado at Denver Health Sciences Center
- Seth Berg, Colorado's 2008 State Teacher of the Year, assessment coordinator and high school teacher, Telluride School District R-1
- Charlotte Brantley, president, Clayton Early Learning
- Eric Briggs, training manager, Amgen
- Dewey F. Brigham, Jr., president, Colorado Association of Black Professional Engineers and Scientists.
- Harry Butler, member of the Mesa County Valley School District
  51 Board of Education
- Mary Chesley, superintendent, Cherry Creek Schools
- Tammy Clementi-Watson, chief academic officer, Pueblo City Schools
- Lindy Crawford, associate dean, University of Colorado at Colorado Springs College of Education
- Willie Daniels, president and chief executive officer, Shades of Blue
- Judi Diaz Bonacquisti, associate vice-resident of enrollment services, Metro State College of Denver
- Carol Eaton, assessment director, Jefferson County Schools
- Lisa Escarcega, assessment director, Aurora Public Schools
- Bill Esterbrook, Board of Cooperative Educational Services (BOCES) and former assistant superintendent, Archuleta School District
- Booker Graves, executive director, Colorado Workforce Development
- Oliver Grenham, executive director of learning services, Adams County School District
- Dan Lere, superintendent, Pueblo School District 70
- Maggie Lopez, assistant superintendent of learning services, Academy School District 20
- Lidoro Maestas, education services specialist, Armed Services Vocational Aptitude Battery (ASVAB)
- Pat Meade, director of institutional research, Front Range Community College
- Mike Miles, superintendent, Harrison School District
- Christina Narayan, Colorado's 2009 Online Elementary Teacher of the Year, teacher, Branson School Online
- Keith Owen, superintendent, Durango School District 9-R
- Jesus Salazar, senior manager, Credera
- Lorrie Shepard, dean and professor of education, School of Education, University of Colorado at Boulder
- Dianna Sirko, superintendent, Aspen School District

- Tim Taylor, president, Colorado Succeeds
- Paul Thayer, associate vice president for student affairs, Colorado State University
- Ana Tilton, chief academic officer, Denver Public Schools
- Mary Valeria, professor, Adams State Colorado College
- Ed Vandertook, superintendent, Strasburg School District
- Cindy Wenzel, district assessment coordinator, Fountain-Fort Carson School District 8

**For more information, contact** Mark Stevens, 303-866-3898, or Megan McDermott, 303-866-2334, in the CDE Office of Communications. To sign up for the CDE e-mail news service, please visit <a href="http://www.cde.state.co.us/Communications/index.html">http://www.cde.state.co.us/Communications/index.html</a>.

# # #