cde

Colorado Department of Education – Communications Office 201 East Colfax Ave. Room 103 Denver, CO 80203 Phone: 303-866-3898 Fax: 303-866-6938

Sept. 25, 2009

News Release

Advisory Committee for Online Learning Holds First Meeting Tuesday, Oct. 6

The newly-appointed Advisory Committee for Online Learning will hold its first meeting Tuesday, Oct. 6 from 2 to 4 p.m. The meeting will be held at the Colorado Association of School Boards offices, 1200 Grant St. in Denver.

The 11 members of the committee were appointed by Commissioner Dwight D. Jones.

"The primary role of the committee will be to serve as a valuable complement to the staff and the Colorado Department of Education by offering advice and support on a variety of issues relevant to the fastgrowing group of online schools," said Pam Ice, Director of the Office of Online Learning. "The advisory committee will represent all stakeholders with a view to adding long-term significance to the function of our office."

Specific goals for this year, said Ice, include providing guidance to help the Colorado Department of Education achieve its vision and objectives for online learning; serving as a sounding board for development of the process and structure for the re-certification of multi-district online programs and making recommendations concerning support opportunities for online programs.

The Advisory Committee will meet four times during the school year, with one meeting taking place online in a Web-meeting format.

Committee members are:

- Amy Anderson, Director of Strategic Partnerships, Donnell-Kay Foundation
- Audie Rubin, Director of Jefferson County Schools' 21st Century Virtual Academy
- Cliff Harald, First Flatiron Consulting LLC
- Jane Urschel, Deputy Executive Director of the Colorado Association of School Boards
- John Hefty, Executive Director of the Colorado Association of School Executives
- Judith Stokes, Educational, Organizational and Public Affairs, Branson School Online
- Miguel Lovato, Scholarship Program Officer, Daniels Fund
- Mike Clem, Assistant Principal, DPS Online High School
- Lee Christopher, eLearning Manager, Arapahoe Community College
- Rick Tanski, Principal, Academy Online High School
- Ben Wilcoff, Online Learning and Technology Resource Specialist, Douglas County School District

Currently, about 14,600 students are enrolled in 24 multi-district and single-district online programs around the state.

For more information, contact Mark Stevens, 303-866-3898, or Megan McDermott, 303-866-2334, in the CDE Office of Communications. To sign up for the CDE e-mail news service, please visit http://www.cde.state.co.us/Communications/index.html.

#