## cde

Colorado Department of Education – Communications Office 201 East Colfax Ave. Room 501 Denver, CO 80203 Phone: 303-866-3898 Fax: 303-866-6938

Oct. 10, 2008

**News Release** 

## *Commissioner Dwight Jones Congratulates Three 2008 Blue Ribbon Schools*

Commissioner of Education Dwight D. Jones today congratulated three Colorado schools that were named by U.S. Secretary of Education Margaret Spellings as 2008 No Child Left Behind—Blue Ribbon Schools.

"The teachers and staff in these three schools deserve our heartiest congratulations for helping all students achieve at very high levels and for their major strides in closing achievement gaps associated with race and poverty," said Commissioner Jones. "My thanks to everyone involved in these three schools, including parents and the community, for creating compelling learning environments for all students."

The three schools are Bromwell Elementary School in Denver (Denver Public Schools), Northridge Elementary School in Highlands Ranch (Douglas County Schools) and Werner Elementary School in Fort Collins (Poudre School District).

"These Blue Ribbon Schools are an example of what teachers and students can achieve," said Secretary Spellings. "Now our challenge is to help other schools follow their lead by continuing to measure progress through No Child Left Behind, and by using the knowledge we've gained to replicate effective strategies and help every student improve."

The No Child Left Behind—Blue Ribbon Schools Program honors public and private elementary, middle and high schools that are either academically superior or that demonstrate dramatic gains in student achievement to high levels.

The schools are selected based on one of two criteria:

- Schools with at least 40 percent of their students from disadvantaged backgrounds that dramatically improve student performance to high levels on state tests; and
- Schools whose students, regardless of background, achieve in the top 10 percent of their state on state tests or in the case of private schools in the top 10 percent of the nation on nationallynormed tests.

A total of 413 schools nationwide can be nominated. This number is determined based on the number of K-12 students and the number of schools in each state, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico.

The Chief State School Officer (CSSO) nominates public schools, and the Council for American Private Education (CAPE) submits private schools' nominations. The schools are invited by Secretary Spellings to submit an application for possible recognition as a No Child Left Behind—Blue Ribbon School.

This year's winners will be honored at an awards ceremony in Washington, D.C. on October 20–21.

**For more information, contact** Mark Stevens, 303-866-3898, or Megan McDermott, 303-866-2334, in the CDE Office of Communications. To sign up for the CDE e-mail news service, please visit <a href="http://www.cde.state.co.us/Communications/index.html">http://www.cde.state.co.us/Communications/index.html</a>.

# # #