cde

Colorado Department of Education – Communications Office 201 East Colfax Ave. Room 501 Denver, CO 80203 Phone: 303-866-3898 Fax: 303-866-6938

Sept. 19, 2008

News Release

Commissioner Dwight D. Jones Appoints Remaining Members of the School Leadership Academy Board

Commissioner of Education Dwight D. Jones today appointed the remaining members of the new School Leadership Academy Board.

The board was created through legislation calling for a School Leadership Academy Program, including a principal academy to improve the recruitment, training and ongoing professional development of school leadership in Colorado.

Colorado State Legislature passed House Bill 1386 in 2008, establishing the leadership academy board, which will advise the Colorado State Board of Education in overseeing the leadership academy program.

In all, 14 members have been appointed. The latest individuals to be selected are:

- Nathan Smith, Principal, Del Norte Middle School, Del Norte School District
- Mary Kay Summers, Principal, Shepardson Elementary School, Poudre School District, 2008-2008 President of the National Association of Elementary School Principals (NAESP)
- Mary Rubadeau, Superintendent, Telluride School District
- Tim Taylor, President, Colorado Succeeds
- Mark Hyatt, President, The Classical Academy
- Jeanette Cornier, Assistant Commissioner, Office of Teaching and Learning, Colorado Department of Education

Previously appointed members include:

- Lynn Rhodes, Dean of Education, University of Colorado at Denver
- Floyd Beard, Executive Director, East Central Board of Cooperative Educational Services
- Bruce Caughey, Deputy Executive Director, Colorado Association
 of School Executives
- Jim Eck, Senior Director, McCREL (Mid-continent Research for Education and Learning)
- Linda Barker, Director of Teaching and Learning, Colorado Education Association
- Jane Urschel, Deputy Executive Director, Colorado Association of School Boards

The 14 board members will serve three-year terms. The board will set policies and procedures for the leadership academy program, monitor the program, define criteria for the department to use in selecting participants for the academy, determine curricular components of the program, and report annually to the Colorado State Board of Education.

For more information, contact Mark Stevens, 303-866-3898, or Megan McDermott, 303-866-2334, in the CDE Office of Communications. To sign up for the CDE e-mail news service, please visit http://www.cde.state.co.us/Communications/index.html.

#