

Colorado Department of Education – Communications Office 201 East Colfax Ave. Room 501 Denver, CO 80203

Phone: 303-866-3898 Fax: 303-866-6938

Aug. 29, 2008

News Release

Commissioner Dwight D. Jones Appoints Members of the School Leadership Academy Board

Commissioner of Education Dwight D. Jones today appointed members of the new School Leadership Academy Board.

The board was created through legislation calling for a School Leadership Academy Program, including a principal academy to improve the recruitment, training and ongoing professional development of school leadership in Colorado.

"The Colorado Department of Education is committed to defining, detailing and implementing a model of school leadership that builds and expands the instructional leadership capacity in our state," said Commissioner Jones. "We know there is a direct relationship between the knowledge and skills of the school principal and the quality of the learning environment. The members of this board will oversee the development of an important new resource for current and future school leadership."

Colorado State Legislature passed House Bill 1386 in 2008, establishing the leadership academy board, which will advise the Colorado State Board of Education in overseeing the leadership academy program.

In all, 14 members will be appointed. Those confirmed to date are:

 Lynn Rhodes, Dean of Education, University of Colorado at Denver

- Floyd Beard, Executive Director, East Central Board of Cooperative Educational Services
- Bruce Caughey, Deputy Executive Director, Colorado Association of School Executives
- Jim Eck, Senior Director, McCREL (Mid-continent Research for Education and Learning)
- Linda Barker, Director of Teaching and Learning, Colorado Education Association
- Jane Urschel, Deputy Executive Director, Colorado Association of School Boards

Additional members will be appointed in the coming weeks.

Commissioner Jones noted that the leadership program concept meshes well with "Forward Thinking," the department's plan for improving support and service to school districts. One of the goals of "Forward Thinking" is to expand leadership capacity in the state.

The 14 board members will serve three-year terms. The board will set policies and procedures for the leadership academy program, monitor the program, define criteria for the department to use in selecting participants for the academy, determine curricular components of the program, and report annually to the Colorado State Board of Education.

For more information, contact Mark Stevens, 303-866-3898, or Megan McDermott, 303-866-2334, in the CDE Office of Communications. To sign up for the CDE e-mail news service, please visit http://www.cde.state.co.us/Communications/index.html.