

Colorado Department of Education – Communications Office 201 East Colfax Ave. Room 501 Denver, CO 80203 Phone: 303-866-3898 Fax: 303-866-6938

April 10, 2008

News Release

## State Board of Education Orders Colorado Springs School District 11 to Negotiate With Hope Online

The Colorado State Board of Education today ordered Colorado Springs School District 11 to work with Hope Online Learning Academy Co-Op and open one or more learning centers in their district.

The motion approved by the board stated that the decision by Colorado Springs School District 11 to deny an operating agreement with Hope was contrary to the best interests of the pupils, parents, community or school district.

The motion was made by board member Randy DeHoff and was approved 4-2. Board members Elaine Gantz Berman and Evie Hudak cast the dissenting votes; board member Jane Goff was out of the country.

The Colorado Springs School District 11 Board of Education rejected Hope's request for a memorandum of understanding by a 7-0 vote in February.

In a related decision, the state board also approved a motion that found Harrison School District 2 in violation of state law for failure of its board of education to formally vote on whether to enter into a memorandum of understanding with Hope Online. The motion approved by the board (6-0) had the effect of implementing the standard memorandum of understanding between Hope and Harrison School District 2 requiring the parties to comply within 30 days.

## **Summer School Grants**

The board of education approved summer school funds for eligible facilities for summer 2008. This is a grant program designed to assist facility schools in providing intensive research-based educational services in the areas of reading, writing, and/or mathematics for children who are performing below grade level in these areas.

The summer school program is required to be at least six weeks long and at least 20 hours per week of academic instruction. This is a noncompetitive grant. All below grade level students in eligible facilities that applied for the grant were approved for funding.

Approved schools included Brighton School District 27J (\$180,704), the Charter School Institute (\$31,313), Denver Public Schools (\$14,715), Eaton School District RE-2 (\$36,286), Gunnison Watershed School District RE1J (\$10,475), Weld City School District RE-3J (\$65,703), Mapleton Public Schools (\$42,350), McClave School District RE-2 (\$10,340), Montrose County School District RE-1J (\$72,214), Northwest Colorado Board of Cooperative Services (\$69,254), Park County School District RE-2 (\$43,335), Pikes Peak Board of Cooperative Educational Services (\$151,655), Poudre School District (\$71,030), Pueblo School District 60 (\$126,000) and Thompson School District R2-J (\$34,626).

## **Recognition of Superintendent Larry Vibber**

The board took time out of the meeting to recognize Larry Vibber, superintendent for Fowler School District R4J, for his 46 years of service to the district. Board Chair Pamela Jo Sucka lauded Vibber for his "remarkable" career and dedication. Vibber credited the strength of his community, board, teachers, staff and students for the district's success.

## In other action, the board approved:

- A request for waivers from Roaring Fork School District RE-1 on behalf of Carbondale Community School
- A request for waivers from Colorado Springs District 11 on behalf of CIVA Charter School

- A request for waivers from Brighton 27J School District on behalf of Landmark Academy at Reunion
- Exclusive chartering authority for Academy School District 20, Adams 12 Five Star Schools, Brighton School District 27J, Cheyenne Mountain School District 12, Colorado Springs School District 11, Delta County School District 50J, Englewood School District, Fountain-Fort Carson School District 8, Garfield School District Re-2, Lewis-Palmer School District 38, Mapleton Public School District 1, Montrose County School District RE-1J and Weld County School District 6. (A decision regarding Pueblo School District 60 was postponed until after a hearing scheduled for May.)
- Five disciplinary proceedings
- Two emergency renewal authorizations
- Eighteen emergency initial authorizations
- The Catholic Diocese of Pueblo principal induction program
- The Miami-Yoder School District JT60 teacher induction program
- The Telluride School District R-1 teacher/special services provider induction program
- Appointments to Colorado Special Education Advisory Committee
- Payments included in Ouray County to Montrose School District in the amount of \$1,649.81; Ouray School District in the amount of \$38,505.81; and Ridgway School District in the amount of \$15,159.03.
- Lena Fraley to the Educational Data Advisory Committee as a replacement for an unexpected resignation emergency

For more information, contact Mark Stevens, 303-866-3898 or Megan McDermott, 303-866-2334, in the CDE Office of Communications. To sign up for the CDE e-mail news service, please visit <a href="http://www.cde.state.co.us/Communications/index.html">http://www.cde.state.co.us/Communications/index.html</a>.