

Colorado Department of Education – Communications Office 201 East Colfax Ave. Room 505 Denver, CO 80203

Phone: 303-866-3898 Fax: 303-866-6938

Feb. 11, 2008

News Release

CSAP Administration Begins Feb. 18

The 2008 administration of the Colorado Student Assessment Program (CSAP) begins Monday, Feb. 18 when third-grade students may begin taking the reading portion of the test.

Administration for all other grades and all other subjects—grades three through 10 in reading, writing, mathematics and science—begins Monday, March 10.

Within a prescribed window, each school district determines its own schedule for administering CSAP. Third-grade reading tests may be completed through Friday, Feb. 28 and all other CSAP tests may be completed through Friday, April 11.

Third-grade tests are taken early so results are available by May, to assist teachers in preparing individual plans for students who perform below grade level—a requirement of the Colorado Basic Literacy Act.

This year, the Colorado ACT will be administered on Wednesday, April 23 with a make-up of Wednesday, May 7. All eleventh-grade students take the Colorado ACT.

"We strongly encourage parents to be familiar with the CSAP administration schedule in their district so they can make sure this is a successful experience for the child, the teacher and the school," said Jo O'Brien, assistant commissioner for the Colorado Department of Education's Office of Standards and Assessment.

"The CSAP results are a part of the complete body of evidence that determine each student's academic progress," she added, "and we want to ensure that every child has the opportunity to succeed by being in school and being well rested and well nourished."

Under state law, all students in grades three through 10 are required to take CSAP. There are no opt-out provisions, said O'Brien. Last year, just .3 percent of tests were considered "xxxxxx," meaning the test was not taken. "Clearly the vast majority of parents recognize the value of CSAP as a useful tool in demonstrating proficiency and identifying areas for improvement," said O'Brien. "Our goal is 100 percent participation

Other Testing Window Information:

- CSAP-A (given to students with significant cognitive disabilities)
 - o Grade 3 reading, writing and mathematics may be given between Feb. 6 and March 7.
 - Grade 4 through 10 in all subjects is February 6 through March 28.

Parents may find useful a Web site that provides useful information about CSAP, the scoring rubrics, item maps and other useful tools. The link is maintained by the Office of Standards and Assessment at http://www.cde.state.co.us/index_stnd-access.htm

For more information, contact Mark Stevens, 303-866-3898 in the CDE Office of Communications. To sign up for the CDE e-mail news service, please visit http://www.cde.state.co.us/Communications/index.html.

#