

Colorado Department of Education – Communications Office 201 East Colfax Ave. Room 505 Denver, CO 80203 Phone: 303-866-3898 Fax: 303-866-6938

Jan. 10, 2008

News Release

## *Colorado Students Selected for United States Senate Youth Program; Students Head to Washington, D.C. and Will Receive \$5,000 Scholarship*

Senators Wayne Allard and Ken Salazar today announced the names of the two Colorado students who have been selected as delegates to the 46<sup>th</sup> Annual United States Senate Youth Program (USSYP) that will be held March 1—8 in Washington, D.C.

James Brown of Colorado Springs and John Schaefer of Woodland Park were chosen from hundreds of applicants to be part of the group of 104 student delegates who will attend the program's 46<sup>th</sup> Annual Washington Week.

The USSYP was created by Senate Resolution 324 in 1962 and has been sponsored by the Senate and fully funded by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation since inception. Originally proposed by Senators Kuchel, Mansfield, Dirksen and Humphrey, the impetus for the program as stated in Senate testimony was "to increase young Americans' understanding of the interrelationships of the three branches of government, the caliber and responsibilities of federally elected and appointed officials, and the vital importance of democratic decision making not only for America but for people around the world."

Each year this extremely competitive merit-based program brings 104 of the most outstanding high school students—two from each state, the District of Columbia and the Department of Defense Education Activity—to Washington, D.C., for an intensive week-long study of the federal government and the people who lead it. The overall mission of the program is to help instill within each class of USSYP student delegates more profound knowledge of the American political process and a lifelong commitment to public service. In addition to the program week, the foundation grants each of the 104 student

delegates a \$5,000 college scholarship with encouragement to continue coursework in government, history and public affairs. Transportation and all expenses for Washington Week are provided by the foundation, as stipulated in Senate Resolution 324; no government funds are utilized.

James Brown is Student Council Class Treasurer and an honor roll student at Air Academy High School. His many leadership activities include: Senator at Boys Nation, Treasurer of Students Taking Action Now and participant in Model United Nations. James was selected as Best Delegate at Twelve Model Congress events and Best Delegate by Harvard faculty and students. James plans to study business economics and international affairs/public policy in college.

John Schaefer is Student Body Executive Vice President and an honor roll student at Woodland Park High School. John attended the HOBY Leadership Conference and is active in the National Beta Club, El Pomar Youth in Community Service, and the District Health Advisory Committee. John volunteers his time at the local animal shelter, Kiwanis Club and helps paint sets for the local middle schools' drama departments. He plans to attend college and major in political science or global studies.

Chosen as alternates to the 2008 program were Jamie Love-Nichols, a resident of Cortez who attends Montezuma-Cortez High School and Cameron Browne, a resident of Lakewood who attends Bear Creek High School.

The chief educational officer in each state selects the delegates after nomination by teachers and principals. This year's delegates were designated by Mr. Dwight Jones, Commissioner of Education.

While in Washington the student delegates will attend meetings and briefings with Senate leadership, other senators and congressional staff; the president, a justice of the Supreme Court, leaders of cabinet agencies, an Ambassador to the United States and top members of the national media. The students will also tour many of the national monuments and several museums and they will stay at the historic Mayflower hotel in downtown Washington, D.C.

In addition to outstanding leadership abilities and a strong commitment to public service, this year's students rank academically in the top one percent of their states. They continue to excel and develop impressive qualities that are often directed toward public service. Among the many distinguished former program delegates are Sen. Susan Collins of Maine, the first program delegate elected to the Senate; Judge Robert Henry, U.S. Court of Appeals; former Ambassador to West Germany Richard Burt; former Presidential Advisor Karl Rove and former Presidential Advisor Thomas "Mack" McLarty. Additional distinguished alumni are former Lt. Governor of Idaho David LeRoy, U.S. Attorney for New Jersey Christopher Christie, military officers, foreign service officers, members of state legislatures, top congressional staff, healthcare providers and university educators.

Members of the USSYP 2008 46<sup>th</sup> Annual Senate Advisory Committee are: Co-Chairs — Sen. Dianne Feinstein of California and Sen. Pat Roberts of Kansas. Advisory Committee — Sen. Sherrod Brown of Ohio, Sen. Robert P. Casey, Jr. of Pennsylvania, Sen. Daniel K. Inouye of Hawaii, Sen. Edward M. Kennedy of Massachusetts, Sen. Richard Burr of North Carolina, Sen. Michael B. Enzi of Wyoming, Sen. Chuck Grassley of Iowa and Sen. Kay Bailey Hutchison of Texas. Each year, the Honorary Co-Chairs of the program are the Senate Majority and Minority Leaders and the Vice President of the United States.

**For more information, contact** Mark Stevens, 303-866-3898, or Tanya Price, 303-866-6397, in the CDE Office of Communications. To sign up for the CDE e-mail news service, please visit <u>http://www.cde.state.co.us/Communications/index.html</u>.

# # #