

2b

Department of Education

Application Checklist

This checklist outlines the requirements that are in the eLicense application.

Print it out and use it as a guide to collect your information prior to starting your application.

Applications are automatically purged by the system after 14 days of inactivity. We suggest gathering everything you need prior to beginning. Special Education Temporary Authorization (SETA) **General Item Requirements** 1 Fingerprint card sent to CBI (You only have to be fingerprinted one time for CDE). 2 Digital copy of valid government issued identification (must be uploaded into application). 3 If making a name change with CDE, you will upload a copy of marriage license, divorce decree, or other legal documentation. 4 Employment History for past 5 years. If experience is teaching, and older than 5 years, list that in addition to the past 5 years. 5 Upload copies of current or expired educator licenses/authorizations. Required if you are an out-of-state applicant. Self disclosure will ask about convictions, if under investigation by any licensing authority, if denied any license, if you had disciplinary actions against a license, if ever terminated/non-renewed, left employment to avoid termination or if you 6 voluntarily surrendered any license. If yes, you will check "Yes" on the self disclosure section and you will complete the Self Disclosure Form. If "yes" to a conviction, you will have to upload the law enforcement report, charging document and court disposition. You will need these documents **BEFORE** submitting your application. Adobe Reader (free) must be installed on your computer (if you do not, certain aspects of the application may not work*). 7 8 This application fee is \$40. There are NO refunds, NO charge backs, all sales are final. READ THE APPLICATION FULLY AND CAREFULLY. Everything is explained in detail, but you must take the time to read and 9 understand the application. **Specific Applications with Specific Item Requirements** Initial Applicants (Year 1): You will complete the "Special Education Temporary Authorization" (choose Year 1). This authorization is available to a Colorado special education provider (teacher-who does not hold a Colorado educator (teaching) license, special services provider, special education administrator, SLPA) who is employed at an administrative unit (school district/facility school/state operated program and who is not appropriately endorsed in the area of assignment). 2 Complete the **SETA** Authorization form: **2a** Section A – To be completed by the special education applicant. MODIFIED – SPED Generalist based on coursework or assessment – SUPPORTING DOCUMENTATION REQUIRED **2a1** (Click here to see instructions) **2a2** MODIFIED – based on assessment or coursework – SUPPORTING DOCUMENTATION REQUIRED (see instructions) Section B – To be completed by the college/university advisor upon acceptance into the special education endorsement 2b program. Section C – To be completed by administrative unit (school district), BOCES, facility school or state operated program 2c Director of Special Education. **B** Renewing Applicants (Years 2 & 3): You will complete the "Special Education Temporary Authorization" (choose years 2 & 3). Complete the SETA Authorization form: Section A – To be completed by the special education provider. R Section B – To be completed by the college/university advisor verifying the applicant has made continued satisfactory **2**a progress toward completion of the special education endorsement program during the previous school year.

Section C – To be completed by administrative unit (school district), BOCES, facility school or state operated program Director of Special Education.