Site Index | CDE Offices | Staff Directory


* * CDE will be closed on Thursday, November 26 and Friday, November 27 for the Thanksgiving holiday. * *

Rural Education Council Members

The Council is comprised of one rural superintendent from each of the eight regions in the state, two rural school board members, two rural principals, a rural teacher, and a representative from the Colorado Association of School Executives, Colorado BOCES Association, Rural Alliance and the Colorado Association of School Boards.

Council Members, 2015

  • Don Anderson, Executive Director
    East Central BOCES
  • Douglas Bissonette, Superintendent
    Elizabeth School District C-1
  • Randy Black, Director of Member Relations
    Colorado Association of School Boards
  • Bruce Caughey, Executive Director
    Colorado Association of School Executives
  • Scott Cuckow, Superintendent
    Crowley County School District RE-1J
  • Ken Haptonstall, Superintendent
    Garfield County School District 16
  • Tim Kistler, Superintendent
    Peyton School District 23Jt
  • John Knapp, Former Board Member
    Rocky Ford School District and Board of Directors, Colorado Association of School Boards
  • Brandon LaChance, Executive Director
    North Routt Community Charter School

  • Diane Look, Technology Integration and Gifted Specialist
    Buena Vista School District
  • Dale McCall, Executive Director
    Colorado BOCES
  • Rick Mondt, Superintendent
    Briggsdale School District RE-10
  • Donna Rohde, School Board Member
    Cheraw School District 31
  • Nathan Smith, Superintendent
    Del Norte School District
  • Kyle Stumpf, Principal
    Holyoke Elementary School, Holyoke School District
  • George Welsh, Superintendent
    Canon City School District
  • Troy Zabel, Superintendent
    Bayfield School District


The Rural Education Council is facilitated by Tina Goar, Rural Liaison/Rural  Support Manager at the Colorado Department of Education. 

Please contact Tina Goar 303-866-6608 with any questions.

Quick Links


Contact Us

Colorado Dept. of Education
201 East Colfax Ave.
Denver, CO 80203
Phone: 303-866-6600
Fax: 303-830-0793
Contact CDE

CDE Hours
Mon - Fri 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
See also: Licensing Hours

Educator Licensing