
Concurrent Enrollment District Checklist 
 
 Create a Cooperative Agreement with a “Qualified” Institution of Higher Education 

In order for students to enroll under Concurrent Enrollment, Local Education Providers must have a 
signed Cooperative Agreement on file with the Institution of Higher Education. 
 
Students may concurrently enroll into any state university or college, community college, junior 
college, local district college, or area vocational school, a postsecondary career and technical 
education program described in title 23, C.R.S or an educational institution operating in this state 
that meets the following qualifications:  
• Does not receive state general fund moneys in support of its operating costs; 
• Admits as regular students only persons having a high school diploma or the recognized 

equivalent of such a certificate;  
• Is accredited by a regional accrediting agency or association;  
• Provides an educational program for awarding a bachelor’s degree or a graduate degree;  
• Is authorized by the department of Higher Education to do business in Colorado; 
• Maintains a physical campus or instructional facility; and 
• Is determined by the United States Department of Education to be eligible to administer 

federal financial aid (i.e., “Title IV eligible”). 
 
 Identify and Select Qualified Students for the Concurrent Enrollment Program  

Students in 9th, 10th, 11th and 12th grades may qualify to concurrently enroll in postsecondary courses 
if the student has:  
• Received approval from the local education provider for their academic plan of study;  
• Applied for concurrent enrollment approval with the local education provider no later than 

the deadline set by the college and local education provider and 60 days before the end of the 
academic term that immediately precedes the intended term of concurrent enrollment*;   

• Met the minimum college prerequisites for the desired course(s)**.  
 

Students in 12th grade who have not satisfied minimum high school graduation requirements 
established by his or her high school by the end of his or her 12th grade year and are held back for 
instructional purposes may not concurrently enroll into more than 9 credit hours during the 
academic year (including basic skills courses) with a maximum of 6 credits per semester as a full-
time student and 3 credits per semester as a part-time student in any subsequent years while 
registered as a K-12 student.  
 
*Note: Districts may waive the 60 day process per 22-35-104 (2)(a)(1) C.R.S. 
** Note: Students need not meet all Higher Education Admission Requirements (HEAR) or the 
Colorado Commission on Higher Education (CCHE) index score.  
 

 Graduation Requirements 
Districts must ensure that all college credit hours earned concurrently apply toward the students' 
high school graduation requirements as defined in the students' academic plan. 

 
 Payment of Concurrent Courses  

Districts are required to pay tuition up front for concurrent courses at the in-state (“resident”) 
community college tuition rate. The parent or student may not be required to pay for tuition and 
subsequently reimbursed by the district or school. 

 
 

Please Note: Local Education Providers began implementing 
Concurrent Enrollment during the 2010-2011 school year. As of 
July 1, 2012, high schools must operate all dual enrollment 
programs under the Concurrent Enrollment Programs Act (22-35-
104 (14) C.R.S.) 
 

 


