Site Index | CDE Offices | Staff Directory

Office of School Nutrition

The Office of School Nutrition (OSN) administers the USDA Child Nutrition Programs (CNP) that provide healthy food to children in Colorado school districts and charter schools. Each of these programs helps to fight hunger and obesity, and to promote the health and well-being of children.

Office of School Nutrition (OSN) home page


Address: 1580 Logan Street, Denver CO 80203
Room Number(s): 760

Unit Supervisor: Jane Brand
Administrative Lead: Stacey Macklin
Lead Email Address: macklin_s@cde.state.co.us
Lead Phone Number: 303-866-6661

 

Office Responsibilities

Jane C. Brand, RD, SNS -Director

brand_j@cde.state.co.us
303-866-6934

 

Brehan Riley, MS, RD -Program Manager

riley_b@cde.state.co.us
303-866-6299

Lyza Shaw, MS - Business Operations Manager

shaw_l@cde.state.co.us
303-866-6670

  • Assists with the financial management aspects of the Child Nutrition Program
  • Coordinates the Resource Management section of the Administrative Review
  • Liaison for fiscal management and financial reporting
  • Procurement

Sara Silvernail, MS, RD -Training Supervisor

silvernail_s@cde.state.co.us
303-866-5985

  • Coordinates and oversees training and technical assistance programs
  • Coordinates dietetic interns
  • Liaison to Colorado School Nutrition Association (CSNA)


Megan Meermans -Grants Fiscal Analyst/Nutrition

meermans_m@cde.state.co.us
303-866-5692

  • Fiscal Management
  • USDA Reports

Amanda Mercer, MS, RD -Review Administrator

mercer_a@cde.state.co.us
303-866-6659

  • Coordinates Administrative Review Process
  • Lead for nutrient analysis protocols


Jan Bodnar, RD -Program Specialist

bodnar_j@cde.state.co.us
303-866-6306

  • Charter Schools
  • Equipment Approval/ Equipment Grants
  • Food Service Management Companies (FSMCs)
  • New School Food Authorities (SFAs)
  • Procurement

Sara Rose Foreman, RD -Program Specialist

foreman_s@cde.state.co.us
303-866-6650

  • Afterschool Care Snack Program (ACSP)
  • Fresh Fruit and Vegetable Program (FFVP)
  • Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Point (HACCP)

Julie Griffith, MPH, RD -Program Specialist

griffith_j@cde.state.co.us
303-866-6759

  • Free and Reduced Price Meals Process
  • Provisional Programs
    • Community Eligibility Provision
    • Provision 2
  • Residential Child Care Institutes (RCCIs)


Heather Hauswirth, RD -Program Specialist

hauswirth_h@cde.state.co.us
303-866-6871

  • Interim - Smart Snacks and Competitive Foods
  • HealthierUS School Challenge (HUSSC)
  • Nutrition Education
  • Smarter Lunchrooms
  • Team Nutrition
  • Wellness Policy

Kerri Link, MS, RD -Program Specialist

link_k@cde.state.co.us
303-866-3686

  • Civil Rights
  • Farm to School
  • Interim - Menu planning and meal patterns
  • Special Dietary Needs
  • Special Milk Program
  • Procurement

Ashley Moen, MS, RD -Program Specialist

moen_a@cde.state.co.us
303-866-6653

  • Emergency/Disaster Feeding
  • Seamless Summer Option (SSO)
  • Summer Food Service Program (SFSP)


Jennifer Otey, BA -Program Specialist

otey_j@cde.state.co.us
303-866-6450

  • Claim System
  • Direct Certification
  • Independent Review of Applications
  • Renewals
  • Thursday Update
  • Verification

TBD -Program Specialist

  • Alternate Point of Sale (POS)
  • Competitive Foods
  • Meal Patterns
  • Offer versus Serve

Stacey Macklin, BS -Program Support

macklin_s@cde.state.co.us
303-866-6661

  • Administrative Duties
  • Advisory Council for School Nutrition (ACSN)
  • Program Support
  • Website Content Coordinator


 

 

Major Projects


Quick Links

 

Contact Us

Colorado Dept. of Education
201 East Colfax Ave.
Denver, CO 80203
Phone: 303-866-6600
Fax: 303-830-0793
Contact CDE

CDE Hours
Mon - Fri 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
See also: Licensing Hours

Educator Licensing