Site Index | CDE Offices | Staff Directory

 

* * CDE will be closed on Monday, February 15 for the President's Day holiday. * *

Office of School Nutrition

The Office of School Nutrition (OSN) administers the USDA Child Nutrition Programs (CNP) that provide healthy food to children in Colorado school districts and charter schools. Each of these programs helps to fight hunger and obesity, and to promote the health and well-being of children.

Office of School Nutrition (OSN) home page

Address: 1580 Logan Street, Denver CO 80203
Room Number(s): 760

Unit Supervisor: Jane Brand
Administrative Lead: Stacey Macklin
Lead Email Address: macklin_s@cde.state.co.us
Lead Phone Number: 303-866-6661

 

Office Responsibilities


Contact Us


CDE Office of School Nutrition Staff

Jane C. Brand, RD, SNS - Director

brand_j@cde.state.co.us
303-866-6934

  • Manages all Child Nutrition Programs administered by CDE; determines program goals and objectives.
  • Formulates, interprets and implements state and federal statutes, rules and regulations for the Child Nutrition Programs
  • Provides leadership and expertise in planning, developing, promoting, implementing, and evaluating Child Nutrition Programs
  • Oversees budgets related to federal and state funding

Brehan Riley, MS, RD, SNS -  Program Manager

riley_b@cde.state.co.us
303-866-6299

  • Monitors statewide implementation of the school meal programs.
  • Assists in program implementation, develops policies to enforce program goals/objectives, evaluates program data to ensure program goals/objectives are being met, and enforces all program regulations.
  • Resolves issues regarding interpretation and implementation of federal regulations. Provides input on proposed federal and state regulations.
  • Coordinates dietetic interns

Lyza Shaw, MS - Business Operations Manager

shaw_l@cde.state.co.us
303-866-6670

  • Assists with the financial management aspects of the Child Nutrition Program
  • Coordinates the Resource Management section of the Administrative Review
  • Liaison for fiscal management and financial reporting
  • Procurement

Sara Silvernail, MS, RD -Training Supervisor

silvernail_s@cde.state.co.us
303-866-5985

  • Coordinates and oversees training and technical assistance programs
  • Liaison to Colorado School Nutrition Association (CSNA)

Amanda Mercer, MS, RD -Review Administrator

mercer_a@cde.state.co.us
303-866-6659

  • Coordinates Administrative Review Process
  • Lead for nutrient analysis protocols

Ashley Moen, MS, RD - Summer Food Service Program Administrator

moen_a@cde.state.co.us
303-866-6653

  • Emergency/Disaster Feeding
  • Seamless Summer Option (SSO)
  • Summer Food Service Program (SFSP)

Megan Meermans -Grants Fiscal Analyst/Nutrition

meermans_m@cde.state.co.us
303-866-5692

  • Fiscal Management
  • USDA Reports

Jan Bodnar, RD -Program Specialist

bodnar_j@cde.state.co.us
303-866-6306

  • Charter Schools
  • Equipment Approval/ Equipment Grants
  • Food Service Management Companies (FSMCs)
  • New School Food Authorities (SFAs)
  • Procurement

Rachael Downs, BS-Program Specialist

downs_r@cde.state.co.us
Phone: 303-866-6450

Sara Rose Foreman, RD - Program Specialist

foreman_s@cde.state.co.us
303-866-6650

  • Afterschool Care Snack Program (ACSP)
  • Fresh Fruit and Vegetable Program (FFVP)
  • Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Point (HACCP)

Julie Griffith, MPH, RD - Program Specialist

griffith_j@cde.state.co.us
303-866-6759

  • Claim System
  • Provisional Programs
    • Community Eligibility Provision
    • Provision 2
  • Residential Child Care Institutes (RCCIs)

Heather Hauswirth, RD - Program Specialist

hauswirth_h@cde.state.co.us
303-866-6871

  • HealthierUS School Challenge (HUSSC)
  • Nutrition Education
  • Smarter Lunchrooms
  • Team Nutrition
  • Wellness Policy

Kerri Link, MS, RD - Program Specialist

link_k@cde.state.co.us
303-866-3686

  • Breakfast After the Bell Nutrition Program
  • Civil Rights
  • Farm to School
  • Special Dietary Needs
  • Special Milk Program
  • Procurement

Jonathan Padia, RD - Program Specialist

padia_j@cde.state.co.us
303-866-3685

  • Alternate Point of Sale (POS)
  • Meal Patterns
  • Menu Planning
  • Offer versus Serve
  • Smart Snacks and Competitive Foods

Stacey Macklin, BS - Program Support

macklin_s@cde.state.co.us
303-866-6661

  • Administrative Duties
  • Advisory Council for School Nutrition (ACSN)
  • Program Support
  • Thursday Update
  • Website Content Coordinator


Katie Jackson, BS - Nutrition Consultant

jackson_k@cde.state.co.us
303-913-4456

  • Administrative Reviews

Tammie Rempe, MA, RD - Nutrition Consultant

rempe_t@cde.state.co.us

  • Administrative Reviews

Lynne Torpy, RD - Nutrition Consultant

torpy_l@cde.state.co.us
720-799-6537

  • Administrative Reviews


For additional information, e-mail: nutrition@cde.state.co.us

Major Projects

Quick Links

 

Contact Us

Colorado Dept. of Education
201 East Colfax Ave.
Denver, CO 80203
Phone: 303-866-6600
Fax: 303-830-0793
Contact CDE

CDE Hours
Mon - Fri 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
See also: Licensing Hours

Educator Licensing