Site Index | CDE Offices | Staff Directory

Communications Office

The Communications Division initiates two-way communication to inform and elevate conversations regarding the state’s education system and to solicit, receive and disseminate information on needs and successful practices.

Address: 201 E. Colfax Ave., Denver CO 80203
Room Number(s): 

Unit Supervisor: Janelle Asmus
Administrative Lead: Cami Anthony
Lead Email Address: anthony_c@cde.state.co.us
Lead Phone Number: 303-866-4247

 

Office Responsibilities

 

  • Write, edit and distribute weekly and monthly communications that update stakeholders on the department’s strategic priorities. (The Scoop, CDE Update, The Educator Effectiveness E-Newsletter)
  • Gathers and analyzes information to write and edit various print and electronic communication vehicles including but not limited to: newsletters, brochures, news releases, news tips, web content, social media content, marketing materials, and reports.
  • Respond to media and community requests for information.
  • Upholds and maintains the department brand messaging, style guide and style manual.
  • Communicate the state’s reform plan.
  • Develops new social media and website content, and keeps site(s) updated.
  • Assists in communications trainings and give communications advice and counsel to support the state’s reform initiatives as articulated in the state’s Race to the Top plan.

Major Projects

 

  • Produce new CDE Visual Identity Standards in an effort to realign and strengthen communications coming from CDE. (Beth Hunter hunter_b@cde.state.co.us)
  • Producing materials informing educators and the public on Educator Effectiveness (Beth Hunter, hunter_b@cde.state.co.us; Amy Skinner, skinner_a@cde.state.co.us; and Katie Lams, lams_k@cde.state.co.us)
  • Web overhaul (Megan McDermott, mcdermott_m@cde.state.co.us; Marcus Johnstone, johnstone_m@cde.state.co.us; Michelle Gebhart, gebhart_m@cde.state.co.us)

Quick Links

 

Contact Us

Colorado Dept. of Education
201 East Colfax Ave.
Denver, CO 80203
Phone: 303-866-6600
Fax: 303-830-0793
Contact CDE

Hours:
Mon - Fri 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Educator Licensing
Location & Hours