Site Index | CDE Offices | Staff Directory

HealthierUS School Challenge (HUSSC)

HealthierUS School Challenge: Smarter Lunchrooms is open to all schools participating in the National School Lunch Program and School Breakfast Program. We recognize that changing the school nutrition environment takes time and celebrate both the gradual changes and big successes of schools working diligently to help children eat more healthfully and be more physically active.

Schools can submit an application at any time during the year for a Bronze, Silver, Gold or Gold of Distinction level award.

Schools may submit applications for the HealthierUS School Challenge: Smarter Lunchrooms by US mail or online. Recipients of the Alliance for a Healthier Generations Healthy Schools Program National Recognition Award may also be eligible for a streamlined application process.

Applications submitted to the State agency on or after August 31, 2014, will be reviewed using the 2014 HUSSC: SL Criteria.

Congratulations to Colorado's HealthierUS School Challenge Award winners!

  • Adams-Arapahoe School District 28J
    • Altura Elementary School (Silver)
    • Aurora Frontier K-8 (Bronze)
    • Aurora Quest (Bronze)
    • Century Elementary School (Bronze)
    • Dalton Elementary School (Bronze)
    • Dartmouth Elementary School (Bronze)
    • Fletcher Community School (Bronze)
    • Fulton Academy of Excellence (Silver)
    • Global Village Academy (Bronze)
    • Jewell Elementary School (Bronze)
    • Lansing Elementary School (Bronze)
    • Lyn Knoll Elementary School (Bronze)
    • Murphy Creek K-8 (Bronze)
    • Sixth Avenue Elementary School (Bronze)
    • Vaughn Elementary School (Bronze)
    • Virginia Court Elementary School (Bronze)
    • Vista Peak Exploratory P-8 (Bronze)
    • Wheeling Elementary School (Bronze)
    • Yale Elementary School (Bronze)

  • St. Vrain Valley School District RE 1J
    • Burlington Elementary School (Bronze)
    • Centennial Elementary School (Bronze)
    • Central Elementary School (Bronze)
    • Columbine Elementary School (Bronze)
    • Eagle Crest Elementary School (Bronze)
    • Erie Elementary School (Bronze)
    • Indian Peaks Elementary School (Bronze)
    • Longmont Estates Elementary School (Bronze)
    • Mountain View Elementary School (Bronze)
    • Northridge Elementary School (Bronze)
    • Rocky Mountain Elementary School (Bronze)
    • Sanborn Elementary School (Bronze)



For additional information:

Heather Hauswirth, RD
Ph-303-866-6871 | Fax-303-866-6133 or

Quick Links


Contact Us

Colorado Dept. of Education
201 East Colfax Ave.
Denver, CO 80203
Phone: 303-866-6600
Fax: 303-830-0793
Contact CDE

CDE Hours
Mon - Fri 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
See also: Licensing Hours

Educator Licensing