Site Index | CDE Offices | Staff Directory

 

* * CDE will be closed on Thursday, Nov. 23 and Friday, Nov. 24 for the Thanksgiving holiday. * *

Information for Families

What is the Colorado Preschool Program (CPP)?

  • A state-funded, district-run, preschool program. CPP is intended to serve preschool-aged children in Colorado who are at risk for starting elementary school unprepared. 
  • There is no fee for families that qualify. CPP allows eligible children to attend high-quality preschool for free. 
  • Support services for families. Families are a big part of a child’s learning experience. CPP helps support you in your role as a parent or guardian. 
  • To find out about CPP options in your community, click here to find the school district contact who can help you with enrollment.

Why Preschool?

Your child’s early years are important. 700-1,000 new connections form in the brain each second during the first few years of life; faster than any other time in their life. These connections form the building blocks for important brain functions like self-control, working memory, and mental flexibility (1). Children who attend quality preschool programs are more likely to do well in school and less likely to drop out later.

(1)Harvard's Center on the Developing Child

Girl playing at dramatic play center


Frequently Asked Questions

Is My Child Eligible?

  • Child and family qualifying factors that affect overall learning readiness must be present in a child’s life in order for a child to be fit for CPP. These factors are determined by the legislature and are not based on income alone.

How Old Does My Child Have to Be to Qualify?

  • To qualify for CPP, children must be at least 3-years-old and until can be served until the entry age for Kindergarten
    • The eligibility date for preschool is the same as the eligibility date for kindergarten in your district.
    • If a child is 3-years-old, the child must have three significant risk factors in their life that put him or her at risk for later school challenges. 
    • If a child is old enough to attend kindergarten, they cannot be funded by CPP for a second year in preschool.

If We Move, Will My Child Stay in CPP?

  • Since each school district manages its own program, your child’s spot in CPP cannot be transferred.
    • If you move to a new school district, you will need to go through the enrollment process again in the new district.Because resources are limited, availability for placement cannot be guaranteed when a family moves from district to district.

How Do I Apply?

  • School district councils determine eligibility and enrollment for CPP for their particular district.
  • Click here to find the school district contact who can help you with enrollment.


Not Sure of your School District?

If you are not sure in which school district you live, please contact a regional consultant for assistance click here to contact a regional consultant

More Information

Click here for more information on child care options, directories, and family links

Quick Links

 

Contact Us

Colorado Dept. of Education
201 East Colfax Ave.
Denver, CO 80203
Phone: 303-866-6600
Fax: 303-830-0793
Contact CDE

CDE Hours
Mon - Fri 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
See also: Licensing Hours

Educator Licensing 

WCC Access