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Purpose

The goals of today’s webinar are to:
• Provide a high-level overview of the funding and audit 

documentation requirements related to the Student October 
Count data submission/Funded Pupil Count

• Introduce participants to available resources and information 
as they prepare for the 2023 Student October Count data 
submission and subsequent audit

• Review information that may be especially relevant to schools 
with the Alternative Education Campus AEC designation

• Brief update of At-Risk and English Language Learner funding 
counts
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Introduction
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Funding in the State of Colorado

• The Public School Finance Act of 1994 and the accompanying 
rules describe the funding formula and the requirements for 
pupils to be included in a district’s funded pupil count

• Funding under this act includes general per pupil funding 
calculation for each student at the district, plus funding for:

• At-Risk pupils 
• English learner pupils
• Multi-district online pupils
• ASCENT, P-TECH, and TREP pupils
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School Finance Unit and School Auditing Office

The School Finance Unit at CDE is responsible for calculating the total 
pupil and at-risk funding (known as “Total Program” funding) based 
on district-reported data included in the Student October Count data 
submission.

The School Auditing Office is responsible for: 
• Conducting compliance audits as required by the Public School 

Finance Act of 1994 and the accompanying rules 
• These audit verify that the funding data fields reported during the data 

submission were accurate when determining funding eligibility

• Providing technical guidance and support to districts throughout 
the Student October Count data submission related to funding 
eligibility requirements and corresponding audit documentation
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Student October Count Day 2023

The 2023 pupil enrollment count date will be:
Monday, October 2, 2023

• The 11-day count period includes the following (based on the district’s 
adopted calendar):

• The 5 student contact days before the pupil enrollment count date 
• The pupil enrollment count date
• The 5 student contact days following the pupil enrollment count date

• Districts can request an alternative count date or 11-day count period on 
behalf of an individual school, if applicable

7



Student October Count Data Submission

• When reporting data in the Student October Count data 
submission, it is very important that districts and schools 
have processes in place to ensure accurate reporting of all 
data fields, especially those used for determining funding

• Under- or over-reporting of the funded pupil and/or at-risk 
and ELL counts may result in:

• Significant audit findings for the district 
• (i.e., the district owing money back to CDE or not receiving all eligible 

funds prior to audit)
• This may impact both the current and subsequent school years.

• Impact on funding for districts across the state of Colorado
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Resources
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School Auditing Office’s Website

School Auditing Office Overview Website
(http://www.cde.state.co.us/cdefinance/auditunit)
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http://www.cde.state.co.us/cdefinance/auditunit


Resources:
Training and Office Hours webpage
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Training and Office Hours webpage
(https://www.cde.state.co.us/cdefinance/auditunit_trainings)

https://www.cde.state.co.us/cdefinance/auditunit_trainings


Resources: 
Pupil Count Webpage
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Pupil Count Webpage
(https://www.cde.state.co.us/cdefinance/auditunit_pupilcount)

https://www.cde.state.co.us/cdefinance/auditunit_pupilcount


Resources:
Student October Count Audit Resource Guide

• Describes the general funding requirements and 
corresponding audit documentation for every student

• Districts, schools and BOCES are encouraged to be most familiar with 
the first 17 pages of the guide (general funding requirements and 
corresponding audit documentation)

• Review Appendices A (Calendar and Bell Schedule Calculations) and C 
(Duplicate Count).

• Identifies various “unique” student types, courses, schools, 
and programs that are:

• Exceptions to the general funding rule(s), and/or
• Variations in the type of audit documentation necessary to evidence 

funding eligibility

• Link: 2023 Student October Count Audit Resource Guide
• https://www.cde.state.co.us/cdefinance/23-

24_pupil_count_audit_resource_guide
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https://www.cde.state.co.us/cdefinance/23-24_pupil_count_audit_resource_guide


Student October Count Audit Resource Guide: 
Cover Page and Table of Contents
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General Funding Requirements
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Students Attending AECs

For funding purposes:
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AECs are not considered a unique school type (unless some other 
criteria—such as being a Colorado public Online School or Program—
applies).

Students attending AECs must meet the same general funding 
requirements as any other students.

If a unique student, course, school, or program type applies to a given 
student (such as work-based learning courses, etc.) then those additional 
funding and/or audit documentation requirements do apply.



Funding Requirements: 

All funding requirements 
are based on the pupil 
enrollment count date and 
the 11-day count period. 

General funding 
requirements:

1. Enrollment
2. Attendance
3. Scheduled 

Instructional Hours
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Funding Requirements: 
Enrollment

To be eligible for funding, as of the pupil enrollment count date, 
students must:
• Be enrolled with the district
• Be younger than 21 years old

• Exception: Students receiving services outlined in an Individualized 
Education Program (IEP) may turn 21 before the pupil enrollment count 
date in the semester of the pupil enrollment count date and still be 
eligible for funding 

• Not have met the district’s minimum graduation requirements 
• Exception: Students receiving services outlined in an IEP who have met 

the district’s minimum graduation requirements are eligible for funding 
through age 21

• Exception: Students are eligible for funding for a minimum of 4 years of 
high school.  If the student meets the district’s minimum graduation 
requirements before the 4th year of high school, the student may still be 
eligible for funding

• Exception: Students who are being retained to participate in a 5th or 6th 
year extended high school postsecondary program (ASCENT, P-TECH, 
TREP)
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Funding Requirement: 
Transfer Enrollment Exceptions

Students enrolling after the pupil enrollment count date, but 
before the end of the 11-day count period, may be eligible for 
funding if they meet one of the transfer enrollment exceptions:
• Within-District Transfers
• Within-State Transfers
• Out-of-State Transfers
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Funding Requirements: 
Attendance

• Students must be present for all, or any portion of, the pupil 
enrollment count date (in any scheduled class)

OR
• If the student is absent for any reason on the pupil enrollment 

count date:
• Must establish attendance (in any scheduled class) prior to the pupil 

enrollment count date during the current school year AND
• Must resume attendance (in any scheduled class) within 30 days 

following the pupil enrollment count date
• This assumes the students do not break their enrollment with the district
• If the student withdraws from the during the current school year prior to the 

pupil enrollment count date—with the intention of leaving the district—and 
re-enrolls within 30 days following the pupil enrollment count date, the 
student is not eligible for funding

Exception: Students who are only scheduled into postsecondary 
courses off-site at the college
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Funding Requirements: 
Scheduled Instructional Hours

• Districts and schools must provide individual student 
schedules for all secondary (grades 6-12) students.

• Should reflect what was true as of the pupil enrollment count date
• Should encompass the entire semester of the pupil enrollment count 

date 

• For most student/course types, funding level eligibility is 
based on scheduled teacher-pupil instruction and contact 
time during the semester of the pupil enrollment count date:

• Part-time funding: 90, but less than 360, hours
• Full-time funding: 360+ hours
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Funding Requirements:
Postsecondary Courses

Funding determination for students taking postsecondary courses 
depends on the type of school and/or program:

Students may be eligible for full-time funding if they are:
• Part-time based on their high school scheduled teacher-pupil instruction 

and contact time (i.e., 90+ hours) AND
• Part-time based on their postsecondary credit hours (i.e., 3+ credit hours)
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ASCENT/CE/TREP: 

• Part-Time Funding = 3-11 
semester college credits

• Full-Time Funding = 12+ 
semester college credits

Early College/Dropout Recovery 
Students

• Part-Time Funding = 3-6 
semester college credits

• Full-Time Funding = 7+ 
semester college credits



Calendar and Bell Schedule Calculations

Calendar and bell schedule calculations should be conducted by 
districts and schools to determine, for each secondary school, 
the number of courses (or amount of time) necessary for part-
time or full-time funding.

Resources:
• Appendix A of the 2023 Student October Count Audit 

Resource Guide provides examples of how to conduct each of 
these calculations.

• Districts and schools can also reach out to the School Auditing 
Office for assistance in completing these calculations for 
funding determination.
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https://www.cde.state.co.us/cdefinance/23-24_pupil_count_audit_resource_guide
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AECs & Online Considerations
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AECs and Online Schools

• Online School Or Program
• An “Online School or Program” is either a Colorado online public school, or online 

program, operated by a Colorado school district or BOCES that has submitted 
Authorizers Assurances to the CDE Office of Blended and Online Learning and meets 
the statutory definition of an online school or program.

• An “Online School or Program” does not refer to vendors of particular software, 
curriculums, or “online courses” (such as Edgenuity, CDLS, Gradpoint, K12, etc.) nor 
online schools or programs operating out of the state of Colorado (such as Florida 
Virtual Academy).  

• If the AEC is a Colorado public online school, refer to the Online Schools 
and Programs section of the Audit Resource Guide

• A complete list of certified MDOL schools and SDOL schools and programs 
that have provided notification to the Office of Blended and Online 
Learning for the 2023-24 SY is available on the Multi-District and Single 
District Online Schools & Programs List 
(http://www.cde.state.co.us/onlinelearning/schools)
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Terminology

When determining teacher-pupil instruction and contact time or 
equivalencies for funding consideration, the following definitions apply.

• Credit Recovery Courses/Learning Labs/Sessions
• These are courses taken by students enrolled in brick-and-mortar schools (i.e., those 

with funding codes 80, 82, 85, or 86) in which all of the instruction is regularly 
received in person on-site, but students may be working through digital or online 
curriculum similar to a supplemental online or blended learning course.

• Blended Learning Course
• These are courses taken by students enrolled in brick-and-mortar schools (i.e., those 

with funding codes 80, 82, 85, or 86) in which some of the instruction is regularly 
received in person on-site and some of the instruction is received regularly off-site, 
digitally (with some element of student control over the time, place, path, and/or pace 
of participation). 

• Supplemental Online Course
• These are courses taken by students enrolled in brick-and mortar schools (i.e., those 

with funding codes 80, 82, 85, or 86) in which all of the instruction is received off-site, 
digitally (with some element of student control over the time, place, path, and/or pace 
of participation). 
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Blended Learning and Supplemental Online 
Courses/Program Models

Unless an AEC is a Colorado public Online School or has notified 
CDE of an existing Online Program (through the submission of 
Authorizer Assurances to the Office of Blended and Online 
Learning), AECs must follow the same guidance regarding 
blended learning and/or supplemental online courses as any 
other brick-and-mortar school.
• Refer to the “Blended Learning Courses” and “Supplemental 

Online Learning Courses” sections of the 2023 Student 
October Count Audit Resource Guide for details.

• Instructional time associated with online, blended learning 
and supplemental online courses is based on 100% in-person 
courses bearing similar high school credit, not the time 
associated with a given “session.”
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Course Documentation Requirements: 
Blended Learning and Supplemental Online Courses

UPDATED FOR 2023-2024: To include the digitally-delivered, off-site portion 
of course instruction in the determination for funding for Blended Learning 
and Supplemental Online Courses, the following course documentation 
must be provided at the time of audit (in addition to the required student 
level documentation):
• Governance: Description of district policy that outlines:

• Acceptable synchronous/asynchronous ways in which teacher-pupil 
instruction and contact time can occur outside of the classroom

• Acceptable ways in which attendance/participation will be documented 
during the off-site portion of the class

• Schedule clearly indicating the dates/times in which students receive in-
person/synchronous instruction (per Course Requirement #3)

• List of all Blended Learning and Supplemental Online courses being 
offered during the fall term at each school
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Course Requirements:  Blended Learning and Supplemental 
Online Courses

The following requirements must be met in order to include Blended 
Learning and Supplemental Online courses in the determination for funding:
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1. Limits on the number of courses that may be considered as instructional time for 
funding purposes

• Students can take at least one Blended Learning or Supplemental Online course
• Students may take up to two courses, as long as the second course does not result in a semester schedule that 

consists of a combined total of more than 40% Blended Learning and/or Supplemental Online courses
• Students with more than 3 Blended Learning and/or Supplemental Online courses will be evaluated as online 

students unless a Variance Waiver is granted

2. Courses must occupy unique positions on a student’s schedule

3. Each course must be comprised of at least 20% weekly in-person or synchronous 
instruction

• Note: Supplemental Online courses offered through an approved or recognized online school or program are not 
subject to this requirement

4. Students must have access to equipment and sufficient internet access



Blended Learning and Supplemental Online 
Courses/Program Models

If an AEC has implemented a learning model that operates 
outside of this posted Guidance for Blended Learning and 
Supplemental Online learning, it can submit a Variance Waiver.
• See “Appendix D” of the Student October Count Audit 

Resource Guide for details.  
• Watch the recorded training from May 17, 2023 at 

(https://www.cde.state.co.us/cdefinance/auditunit_trainings) 
• The deadline to request this waiver is August 11, 2023.
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Variance Waiver

The Variance Waiver may waive the following course 
requirements only:
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1. Limits on the number of courses that may be considered as instructional time for 
funding purposes

• Students can take at least one Blended Learning or Supplemental Online course
• Students may take up to two courses, as long as the second course does not result in a semester schedule that 

consists of a combined total of more than 40% Blended Learning and/or Supplemental Online courses
• Students with more than 3 Blended Learning and/or Supplemental Online courses will be evaluated as online 

students unless a Variance Waiver is granted

3. Each course must be comprised of at least 20% weekly in-person or synchronous 
instruction

• Note: Supplemental Online courses offered through an approved or recognized online school or program are not 
subject to this requirement



AEC Specific Considerations
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AEC Student Schedules
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Depending on the school design, some AECs may not be set up to follow a 
“traditional” bell schedule in which a student is provided a semester 
schedule showing the courses into which they are scheduled.

AECs providing students flexibilities regarding their on-site work must still 
have student schedules which clearly state (as of the pupil enrollment count 
date) the days and times in which students are scheduled to attend.



Student Schedule Considerations

Funding level is based on the student’s entire equivalent fall semester 
schedule (i.e., semester 1, quarters 1 & 2, or hexters 1, 2, & 3, etc.)

Fall semester is 1/2 the scheduled student contact days according to 
the school calendar, regardless of how the school organizes terms.
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Student Schedule Considerations

• Student schedules must clearly show all courses or 
instructional sessions into which the student is scheduled 
during the entire semester of the pupil enrollment count date

• Schedules should reflect what is true as of the pupil enrollment count 
date (10/2/23)

• Students should be aware of the courses, or the days and times into 
which they are scheduled, during the entire semester of the pupil 
enrollment count date

• The AEC should be able to clearly document all schedule changes 
occurring during the entire semester of the pupil enrollment count 
date

• Each student’s schedule should be developed to meet the 
student’s individual needs
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AEC Student Schedule Example 1

36

• This AEC is structured into sessions that meet certain times/days 
each week, and each student is scheduled into one session for the 
semester

• In this scenario, the AEC would provide student schedules that 
indicate which session the student is scheduled to attend for the 
semester

• Depending on the calendar and bell schedule calculation, students 
scheduled into Session 1 are likely eligible for full-time funding; 
however, students scheduled into Session 2 or 3 are likely eligible 
for part-time funding

Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Total/week

Session 1
8:30am-3:30pm
30 min lunch

8:30am-3:30pm
30 min lunch

8:30am-3:30pm
30 min lunch

8:30am-3:30pm
30 min lunch

8:30am-3:30pm
30 min lunch

32.5 
hrs/week

Session 2
8:30am-11:30 am 
(no lunch)

8:30am-11:30 am 
(no lunch)

8:30am-11:30 am 
(no lunch)

8:30am-11:30 am 
(no lunch) no session 12 hrs/week

Session 3
12:30pm-3:30pm 
(no lunch)

12:30pm-3:30pm 
(no lunch)

12:30pm-3:30pm 
(no lunch)

12:30pm-3:30pm 
(no lunch) no session 12 hrs/week



• This AEC allows students to select which sessions they will commit to attend 
for the semester

• A student semester schedule might look like this:

• This example student is scheduled for 18.5 hours of instruction each week.  In 
order to determine if this is sufficient for full- or part-time funding, the AEC 
will need to conduct a calendar calculation

AEC Student Schedule Example 2:
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Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Daily Hours

Session 1
8:30am-3:30pm
30 min lunch

8:30am-3:30pm
30 min lunch

8:30am-3:30pm
30 min lunch

8:30am-3:30pm
30 min lunch

8:30am-3:30pm
30 min lunch 6.5 hrs/day

Session 2
8:30am-11:30 am 
(no lunch)

8:30am-11:30 am 
(no lunch)

8:30am-11:30 am 
(no lunch)

8:30am-11:30 am 
(no lunch)

8:30am-11:30 am 
(no lunch) 3 hrs/day

Session 3
12:30pm-3:30pm 
(no lunch)

12:30pm-3:30pm 
(no lunch)

12:30pm-3:30pm 
(no lunch)

12:30pm-3:30pm 
(no lunch)

12:30pm-3:30pm 
(no lunch) 3 hrs/day

Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Daily Hours

Session 1
8:30am-3:30pm
30 min lunch

8:30am-3:30pm
30 min lunch

8:30am-3:30pm
30 min lunch

8:30am-3:30pm
30 min lunch

8:30am-3:30pm
30 min lunch 6.5 hrs/day

Session 2
8:30am-11:30 am 
(no lunch)

8:30am-11:30 am 
(no lunch)

8:30am-11:30 am 
(no lunch)

8:30am-11:30 am 
(no lunch)

8:30am-11:30 am 
(no lunch) 3 hrs/day

Session 3
12:30pm-3:30pm 
(no lunch)

12:30pm-3:30pm 
(no lunch)

12:30pm-3:30pm 
(no lunch)

12:30pm-3:30pm 
(no lunch)

12:30pm-3:30pm 
(no lunch) 3 hrs/day



AEC Student Attendance

Depending on how the AEC is structured, how it documents 
daily attendance for funding purposes may vary.
For example:
• AEC has a standard bell schedule and students are scheduled 

into courses that meet per the bell schedule for the length of 
the term

• Daily attendance captured in the student information system (SIS) is 
likely possible.

• AEC provides flexibility for the student to choose the days and 
times they will attend (for the length of the semester)

• Because these combinations amongst all students may be difficult, 
additional documentation (beyond the standard attendance out of 
the SIS) may be needed.
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At-Risk Count
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Free and Reduced-Price Lunch Eligibility

Reminder: Starting with the 2021/2022 school year, the at-risk 
count includes both free and reduced-price lunch eligible 
students!
• Districts and schools will be expected to retain 

documentation supporting lunch eligibility status for any 
student reported as free or reduced-price lunch eligible in 
Student October.

• This applies whether schools offer meals to students or not

• 2023 At-Risk Count Audit Resource Guide
• (https://www.cde.state.co.us/cdefinance/at-

risk_audit_resource_guide_2324)

• At-Risk Count Audit Overview Webinar:  
• Recording available from July 20, 2023
• (http://www.cde.state.co.us/cdefinance/auditunit_trainings)
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At-Risk Eligibility Documents

Application
or FEDS

• Student determined to be free, reduced-
price, or paid lunch eligible based on 
household size and income or assistance 
program information

Direct 
Certification 

• Student determined to be free or reduced-
price lunch eligible based on participation in 
an approved assistance program

Categorical 
Eligibility

• Student determined to be free lunch eligible 
based on the individual student’s foster, 
migrant, homeless, or runaway status



NEW—Healthy School Meals for All

• Pursuant to HB22-1414 and beginning with the 2023-2024 
school year, districts may opt-in to participate in the Healthy 
School Meals for All program (HSMA) which allows districts 
and schools participating in the National School Lunch 
Program to provide free meals to all students.

• Districts that choose to opt-in to HSMA will still need to 
provide student eligibility documentation. Districts must 
continue to keep records of eligibility and continue to conduct 
direct certification per existing guidance.

• While all students attending an opt-in district are eligible to 
eat meals for free, only students with qualifying eligibility 
documentation on file may be reported as free or reduced-
price lunch eligible in the Student October Count data 
submission.
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Notice: Changes to At-risk Funding Calculations 
Beginning in 2024-2025

• Pursuant to HB22-1202, the at-risk funding calculation 
method is changing.  

• Pursuant to SB23-287, these changes will be implemented 
starting with the 2024-2025 school year.

• The new calculation will take into consideration:
• Percentage of students certified as eligible for free lunch based on 

receipt of SNAP, TANF, or FDPIR benefits or participating in Medicaid 
(i.e., directly certified) OR categorical eligibility (foster, homeless, 
migrant, etc.); AND

• A neighborhood socioeconomic status index that is linked to each 
student’s census block group.

• Districts should anticipate that beginning with 2024-2025, 
required audit documentation to support the district’s funded 
at-risk counts will change.
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NEW—Free Lunch Eligibility Identification

• To assist in collecting the needed data for the changes to the 
at-risk funding calculation, beginning with the 2023-2024 
school year, the “Free Lunch Eligibility Identification” field has 
been added to the Student October Snapshot. 

• Any student reported with a “Free/Reduced-Price Lunch Eligible” 
value of “01” (free lunch eligible) will be required to have a value 
other than “0” in this new field

• Applicable values are:
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0 Not identified as Free Lunch Eligible

1 Direct Certification (Medicaid, SNAP, TANF, FDPIR) – including extension to 
other household members

2 Other Source Categorical (Migrant, Homeless, Runway, Foster, Head Start 
documented participation) – LEA lists, student-specific eligibility

3 Application (Application for Free and Reduced-Price Meals, Family 
Economic Data Survey Form, or Combination form)



NEW—At-Risk Measure (SES Data Pilot Project)

• The School Finance and Data Services units at CDE are 
currently working with districts throughout the state in a Data 
Pilot Project. 

• During this pilot, CDE will develop guidance and instructions on how 
to obtain and report student-level census block data needed for the 
implementation of the new at-risk measure/calculation beginning in 
2024-2025.

• Communications will be sent out to districts in preparation 
for the new data requirement.  

• At this time, it has yet to be determined how this additional 
information will be provided to CDE. 

• This data may be incorporated into the Student October Snapshot, 
obtained through a new data file or collection, etc.
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English Language Learner Count 

46



ELL Count Overview
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As provided for under SB21-268 
and beginning with fiscal year 
2021-2022, there is a new English 
Language Learner funding factor 
that is included in the calculated 
total program funding for each 
district.  

This funding factor includes additional 
funding to districts related to the total 
number of English learners included in 
the district’s funded pupil count for the 
current year.



Resources and Training

• English Language Learner Count 
Webpage:

• http://www.cde.state.co.us/cdefi
nance/auditunit_ell_count

• ELL Count Overview Training:
• Tuesday, September 12th at 10am
• http://www.cde.state.co.us/cdefi

nance/auditunit_trainings
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Contact:

School Auditing Office
Email: audit@cde.state.co.us
Website: http://www.cde.state.co.us/cdefinance/auditunit

Rebecca McRee, Audit Supervisor
Email: mcree_r@cde.state.co.us
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Questions?
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