Site Index | CDE Offices | Staff Directory

Preschool Programs Succeed in Colorado Shines

Congratulations to the 54 school districts across the state who have preschool programs that have achieved levels 3-5 in Colorado Shines. These preschools have demonstrated their commitment to offering high-quality programs for some of Colorado's youngest children.

Colorado Shines is a statewide quality rating and improvement system for all licensed early learning programs. Programs that serve children funded by CPP and participate in Colorado Shines demonstrate that Colorado's most at-risk children are being served in high-quality preschool programs. Colorado Shines provides a comprehensive approach to evaluating Colorado's early childhood programs in areas such as health and safety, training and teacher effectiveness, positive learning environment, continuing education and leadership-all characteristics that point to a program's level of quality, which leads to improved child outcomes. To learn more information, please visit Colorado Shines.

Currently, coaching and ratings are available at no cost through your local Early Childhood Council. Quality improvement dollars are available through the Race to the Top Early Learning Fund. This is the final year of RTT resources, but the state will continue to support quality improvement.

To learn about programs in your area, please visit the Colorado Licensed Child Care Facilities Monthly Report. This search engine provides monthly updates of licensed child care facilities in the State of Colorado. 


School districts with 3 to 5 rated district preschool programs:

Aspen 1
Brush RE-2(J)
Canon City RE-1
Centennial R-1
Cherry Creek 5
Cripple Creek-Victor RE-1
Denver County 1
Dolores County RE-4A
Eagle County RE 50
East Grand 2
Ellicot 22
Englewood 1
Harrison 2
Johnstown-Milliken RE-5J
Lake County R-1
Lewis Palmer 38
Limon RE-4J
Littleton 6
Mesa County Valley 51
Montezuma-Cortez RE-1
Montrose RE-1J
Poudre R-1
Salida R-32
Sanford 6J
Sheridan 2
Springfield RE-4
Summit RE-1
Telluride R-1
Thompson R-2J


School districts that have at least one community partner preschool with 3 to 5 rating:

Adams 12 Five Star School
Adams-Arapahoe 28J
Aspen 1
Boulder Valley RE 2
Canon City RE-1
Cherry Creek 5
Colorado Springs 11
Del Norte C-7
Delta County 50(J)
Denver County 1
Durango 9-R
East Otero R-1
Fountain 8
Fremont RE-2
Garfield 16
Gunnison Watershed RE1J
Hoehne Reorganized 3
Huerfano RE-1
Jefferson County R-1
Lewis-Palmer 28
Montezuma-Cortez RE-1
Pueblo City 60
Sheridan 2
Sierra Grande R-30
South Conejos RE-10
St. Vrain Valley RE 1J
Steamboat Springs RE-2
Trinidad 1
West Grand 1-JT
Westminster Public Schools

Quick Links


Contact Us

Colorado Dept. of Education
201 East Colfax Ave.
Denver, CO 80203
Phone: 303-866-6600
Fax: 303-830-0793
Contact CDE

CDE Hours
Mon - Fri 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
See also: Licensing Hours

Educator Licensing 

WCC Access