Site Index | CDE Offices | Staff Directory

CMAS Results and Educator Evaluations

Banner for 2016-17 toolkit materials webpages
 

CMAS Results & Educator Evaluations

How will CMAS results be used in teacher evaluations?


Overview

Colorado law requires that 50 percent of an educator’s evaluation be based on student learning outcomes as demonstrated by various assessments or “measures of student learning,” including – but not limited to – state assessments. Colorado fully transitioned to new state assessments in English language arts, math, science and social studies, known as Colorado Measures of Academic Success (CMAS), during the 2014-15 school year. 


Using CMAS results for educator evaluations

Beginning with the 2015-16 school year, districts are required to start using CMAS results in one of two ways for evaluations of educators (considerations should be made for the content that teachers teach when applying CMAS results):

  • To use the results in evaluations in the same year that the assessment was administered, results must be available at least two weeks prior to the last class day of the school year.
  • If the results aren’t available in the time frame discussed above, districts can use results from the prior assessment year (except for 2014-15) for educator evaluations. If districts didn’t use state assessment results in the prior year, they should be the “first data point in” the following year.

The chart below outlines how CMAS results are used in 50 percent of an educator’s evaluation.  For more information about the other requirements for using student growth in educator evaluations click here.  

Image: Framework for system to evaluate teachers

Quick Links

 

Contact Us

Colorado Dept. of Education
201 East Colfax Ave.
Denver, CO 80203
Phone: 303-866-6600
Fax: 303-830-0793
Contact CDE

CDE Hours
Mon - Fri 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
See also: Licensing Hours

Educator Licensing 

WCC Access