Site Index | CDE Offices | Staff Directory

 

* * CDE will be closed on Thursday, Nov. 22 and Friday, Nov. 23 for the Thanksgiving holiday. * *

Colorado P-TECH: Pathways in Technology Early College High Schools in Colorado

What is P-TECH?

In 2015, Governor Hickenlooper signed the Pathways in Technology Early College High Schools (P-TECH) bill into law (HB15-1270 ). P-TECH is intended to create a public-private partnership to prepare thousands of Colorado students for high-skill jobs of the future.

  • P-TECH is an innovative partnership between a school district, a community college(s), and one or more local high growth industry employer(s).
  • Students begin in 9th grade and go through 14th grade (i.e. high school and two equivalent years of college) for a total of 6 years.
  • As such, students graduate with both a high school diploma and an industry-recognized associate degree, in addition to gaining relevant workplace skills.
  • The associate degree is in a Science, Technology, Engineering or Math (STEM) focused high-growth industry.
  • Students receive intensive student support services, in addition to mentoring, job shadowing, internships, pre-apprenticeships, and other workplace educational experiences.
  • P-TECH is open to all students, with a special focus on encouraging enrollment of students who are socio-economically and racially diverse, the first to attend college in their family, English language learners, and students with disabilities.

Why P-TECHs are so Important

  • By 2018, there will be 14 million new jobs requiring “middle skills”, suited for those with associate degrees. The highest paid of those jobs will be in STEM fields. By 2020, approximately 74% of jobs in Colorado will require some form of postsecondary credential. Yet many young adults not only lack the skills to succeed in these jobs, they fail to finish college altogether.
  • In Colorado, there is a striking disparity in degree attainment between white and under-represented minority students. To illustrate, the following are percentages within groups of Colorado residents aged 25-64 who have earned an associate degree or higher: 55% of White adults; 34% of Black adults; 27% of Native American adults; and 20% of Hispanic adults. That is a 35% degree attainment gap between White and Hispanic adults.

School districts, BOCES, institutions of higher education and dedicated high-growth industry employer partners who want to develop and operate a six-year stand-alone public high school or program within an existing high school focused on career and technical education programming can submit a P-TECH application packet to the Colorado Department of Education.


Approved P-TECH Schools

  • Cañon City High School (Cañon City RE-1) – approved 2018
  • EC@N-STEM (Adams 12)  - approved 2016
  • Pathways in Technology Early College High School (St. Vrain Valley) – approved 2015
  • Power Technical Early College – James Irwin Charter School (El Paso 49) – approved 2015
  • STEM School Highlands Ranch (Douglas County) – approved 2018

 

Pathways in Technology Early College High School - PTECH

C.R.S. 22-35.3-101-105

Jump to Section:

 

P-TECH School Specifications Overview Chart 


School Specifications 


Requirements 

Must be a public school or a program in a high school that includes up to 6 years of high school, designed to prepare students for high-potential careers in industry by enabling them to graduate with a high school diploma and an industry-recognized associate degree. Students may also earn pre-apprenticeship certificates and other industry-recognized certificates in addition to an associate degree.


Grade Levels

P-TECH is for students beginning in the ninth grade and can continue for up to six years (i.e. high school and two equivalent years of college).


Student Population 

All students w/special focus on socio-economically/racially diverse; 1st generation; English language learners; students with disabilities.


Separate School of Program Within Existing School 

Can be a stand-alone school with its own school code, or a program within an existing high school using existing school’s code.


 Academic Expectations 

  • High school diploma + high-grown industry recognized associate degree. 
  • Industry recognized pre-apprenticeship and other certificates can be earned in addition to associate degree.
  • Must have a Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) focus that is informed by current and projected industry standards.
  • Must receive workplace experiences and training (mentoring, job shadowing, internships, pre-apprenticeship training).

- Back to Top - 


Partnerships 


Required Partnerships 

School district, charter school, BOCES (that operate a high school) + Colorado community college + one or more local high-growth industry employers (preference given to employers that are certified center of learning).


Partner Responsibilities 

District/Charter/BOCES:

  • At a minimum, provide course work, counseling, and student support services, as well as provisions relating to instructor qualifications with community colleges.
  • Communicate and share decision-making with community college and employer regarding school operations.

Community College: 

  • At a minimum, provide course work, counseling, and student support services, as well as provisions relating to instructor qualifications with districts/charters/BOCES.
  • Communicate and share decision-making with local education provider employer regarding school operations.

Industry Employer

  • Provide workplace experiences and training (mentoring, job shadowing, internships, pre-apprenticeship training).
  • Consult with the local education provider and community college on course design.
  • Work with community college to ensure that course and post-secondary program competencies meet wider industry expectations as well as the needs of the partner employer(s)

Communicate and share decision-making with local education provider and community college regarding school operations. 

- Back to Top - 


Funding 


Funding 

  1. Years 1-4 = district/charter school PPR
  2. Years 5-6 = State-based PPR
  3. Students are eligible to allocate the College Opportunity Fund (COF) stipend per college credit hour taken.
  4. Students enrolled in their 5th or 6th year of high school at a PTECH school or program are eligible for full-time funding if they are scheduled for a minimum of one class in the semester of the pupil enrollment count date.

- Back to Top - 


State Reporting and Accountability 


Enrollment Requirements 

Please refer to the PTECH section of the:Student October Count Audit Resource Guide


Graduation Rate Reporting 

A P-TECH student will be counted in the Local Education Provider’s or host school’s graduation rate in the year in which the student completes the Local Education Provider’s or host school’s minimum graduation requirements. Students can continue on in PTECH for 5th or 6th year.

Reporting Requirements 

Annual PTECH report and all other state required reporting.

Accountability 

PTECH schools are required to comply with the requirements and responsibilities for state, district and school stakeholders in the state’s accountability process established by the Education Accountability Act of 2009 (S.B. 09-163).

Please refer to the PTECH section of the:Student October Count Audit Resource Guide

-Back to Top -


Application process 


Application Process 

Submit to Colorado Department of Education (CDE) no later than December 1st to begin operation the following fall.


Review and Determination 

Education and Training Committee (CWDC) reviews application and provides recommendation to Commissioner of Education & Executive Director of the Department of Higher Education for joint approval. 

Possible joint decisions: 1) approved; 2) minor changes needed; 3) denied (may reapply). 

Click here to go to P-TECH Application, Eligibility and Reporting page.  

 
Contact Information
Phone: 303-866-6596

Quick Links

 

Contact Us

Colorado Dept. of Education
201 East Colfax Ave.
Denver, CO 80203
Phone: 303-866-6600
Fax: 303-830-0793
Contact CDE

CDE Hours
Mon - Fri 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
See also: Licensing Hours

Educator Licensing 

WCC Access