Site Index | CDE Offices | Staff Directory


* * CDE will be closed on Monday, September 7 for the Labor Day holiday. * *

School Health Professional Grant Program (SHPG)

The School Health Professional Grant (SHPG) program is designed to provide funds to eligible education providers to enhance the presence of school health professionals in their secondary schools. School Health Professionals are defined as School Nurses, School Psychologists, School Social Workers and School Counselors.

This grant program intends to increase the availability of school-based prevention, early intervention and health care services and programs to reduce the risk of marijuana and other substance use and abuse by secondary school students. This matching grant exists to help secondary schools:

  • Increase the presence of school health professionals in secondary schools to provide substance abuse and mental/behavioral health care to students who are enrolled in secondary schools and have substance abuse or other mental/behavioral health needs
  • Implement substance abuse prevention education and provide evidence based resources to school staff, students and families
  • Reduce barriers for enrolled secondary students, who are at risk for substance abuse, to access services provided by community-based organizations for treatment and counseling.




2015-16 Application Information

2014-15 Funded Sites

Mountain Valley School - $64,000
Archuleta School District #50 JT - $65,790
South Routt School District RE-3 - $60,360
GOAL Academy - $53,440
Charter School Institute - $169,232
Alamosa School District - $50,000
Center Consolidated Schools - $87,062
Charter School Institute - $89,200
St. Vrain Valley School District - $96,650
Cripple Creek School District - $108,024
Douglas County School District - $131,900 

Telluride School District RE-1 - $115,000
Thompson School District - $104,820
Fountain-Fort Carson School District 8 (El Paso County) - $112,878
San Juan BOCES - $78,645
Hayden School District RE-1 - $64,020
Boulder Valley School District - $87,005
Lake County School District - $29,670
Boulder Valley School District - $50,532
Poudre School District - $62,506
Cherry Creek School District - $37,220
Lewis Palmer School District 38 - $152,324
Adams-Arapahoe School District 28J - $105,038
Douglas School District RE-1 - $329,444
Douglas County School District RE-1 - $28,000

 For more information, please contact:
Jessica Bigler, Office of Student Health Services,

Quick Links


Contact Us

Colorado Dept. of Education
201 East Colfax Ave.
Denver, CO 80203
Phone: 303-866-6600
Fax: 303-830-0793
Contact CDE

CDE Hours
Mon - Fri 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
See also: Licensing Hours

Educator Licensing